What I Ate Wednesday No.16

Hello lovely lovely readers ๐Ÿ™‚

This is my first WIAW back at home in 6 weeks and it definitely feels good! Thanks Jenn โค

Breakfast today was a little different to my normal fare:

Fruit andย fiberย cereal. It’s the cereal of my childhood for me as, although I used to eat weetabix, it’s what my mum used to have and because I loved the cereal (not the dried fruit) she would give me a couple of pieces dry.

Today was a day of work for me. I read some more Shakespeare and then made a start on George Eliot’s Middlemarch. So far so good, I like books from that period, it’s probably one of my favourites.

Lunch was a bagel topped with courgettes in olive oil, chili and garlic. Delicious and fresh. Doesn’t everything look so much better on aย place mat? I’ve decided to buy a couple for uni to spice things up a bit.

Tonight I was making dinner and it was a Jamie Oliver recipe. I have to say, probably one of his best. But then I’m biased because it was pasta ๐Ÿ˜‰

A lovely spicy sausage and vegetable ragu topped with fresh basil. It was delicious.

I also made dessert: a delectable raspberry and frangipane tart. Tasty and really easy to make!

It was so nice to be able to cook a proper meal in a real kitchen and with good quality, luxurious ingredients. But it was even nicer to be able to cook with my parents again. Sharing the cooking with people you love just adds to the enjoyment and it was really lovely to spend the time with them doing something we all love.

Now I’m starting to doze off so it had better be off to bed. I have some recipes that I want to share with you so hopefully I’ll post them for you tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Wednesday!

Best thing you’ve eaten today?
Do you enjoy cooking with other people?

Sophie x

22 comments

  1. That dinner and dessert!! Yum! ๐Ÿ˜€ I know what you mean about being able to cook at home with family, it’s the best feeling to be surrounded by loved ones and good food!
    Have a great night!

  2. You can’t go wrong with a Jamie Oliver recipe! Dinner and dessert look delicious!
    Nice to see your enjoying some family time ๐Ÿ™‚ Cooking is a great way to bring everyone together for some good food and conversation. I enjoy cooking with my dad the most!

  3. Best thing I ate today was pancakes, with the pasta dish a close second. That pasta dish looks delectable! Fresh basil is ahmazing. And your raspberry tart looks delicious as well! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. i always love your open face bagel snacks/lunches. They always have me craving bagels afterwards ๐Ÿ˜› And that pasta and dessert looks SO yummy!
    I’ve only eaten one thing today, chocolate overnight oats for breakfast, since its 10am right now, but I’d say it might be the best thing I eat all day since its my favorite meal ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I love cooking with my husband, although I’m really the one doing the cooking, sometimes its just nice to have him there while I potter about, we chat about things and its lovely! Glad your enjoying your time at home!

  6. All of your meals looks delicious. I love how you end the day with ice cream and dessert. It’s my favorite way to end a day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I like cooking with other people. My friends are good cooks, so I usually end up doing all the grunt work like chopping and washing up!
    I love the look of your lunch – such a good idea to put courgettes on a bagel like that.

Leave a Reply

