What I Ate Wednesday No.15

Guess what…?

I’m going home in 2 days!!!

In the end it’s easier for me to go home a little earlier and because my dad is the best he is picking me up in the car on the way home ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so excited to be back, to spend time with my family, to see some of my friends and to just relax and not have to worry about anything.

But anyway now on to today.

It’s time for another of Jenn’s fantastic WIAW parties!

This morning’s breakfast was topped with a new addition to my food:

My old favourite weetabix mush (I can’t go long without it!) topped with frozen raspberries. They are actually quite nice eaten still semi frozen and I think they look quite pretty like that, don’t you?

This morning I had my favourite lecture: Modern Literature and this week we’re studying sonnets as a form and genre of poetry. I love sonnets, definitely the poem form I enjoy reading the most. One of my most special possessions is my beautiful copy of Shakespeare’s Sonnets and I’ve read all 154 (can’t remember them all individually though I’m afraid). I particularly love Sonnet 116, it’s beautiful!

When I came back I did some close reading of Chaucer’s Parliament of Fowls and then cooked myself up a quick stir-fry:

The second half of the stir-fry veggies packet from the other day. Quick, simple and tasty!

And I finished my lunch off with my currentย obsession which I mentioned yesterday: vanilla flavoured natural yogurt. I could (and sometimes do) eat this stuff everyday, it’s so delicious.

This afternoon I did some more work and had a little nap as I’ve been really exhausted lately. And then made myself a little snack.

A wholemeal english muffin topped with caramelized onion hummus and a sprinkling of fresh cress (only 50p for a punnet!). The onion adds a subtle but lovely flavour to the hummus.

Then it was time for the doctors. It wasn’t exactly what I expected. I thought we were going to talk through my family history, get the background of my childhood and then talk about how I was finding things. He started by asking how things were and I don’t know about you but I’m hardly going to open the floodgates within seconds of going in and so when I was fairly upbeat he just moved on. I feel like maybe I shouldn’t have been so positive and should perhaps have shown how much I’m struggling. On the plus side, he’sย prescribedย me some pain medication which we are gradually going to increase as I adapt to it. Hopefully I’ll see some improvements…

Couscous topped with a mix of peppers, mushrooms, onion and garlic which I cooked in a little olive oil and some spices. It might sound like a strange mixture but it was actually really nice. Just the sort of warming, comforting meal I needed after a slightly emotional afternoon.

So there you have today’s eats. I think I’ve done quite well today, lots of veg and some cooking ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten recently?
Do you have a current food obsession?

Sophie x

17 comments

  1. I love eating raspberries frozen too! The extra cold crunch is so tasty ๐Ÿ™‚ My current food obsession is grilled zucchini mmm!
    Happy WIAW! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Very nice wiaw eats! I had frozen berries this morning for breakfast!
    I hope the pain medication works well for you. Pain medication depending on how strong they are don’t always sit well with me…can be very uncomfortable.
    Current food obsessions would have to be yogurt messes & smoothies since it’s been quite hot lately!

    How nice of your dad to pick you up ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope the time back home is awesome.

  3. Yay for going home in two days!! That shall be wonderful for you ๐Ÿ™‚
    And frozen raspberries are great, and so much cheaper too! I am currently obsessed with pumpkin (like the rest of the blog world) but specifically pumpkin oatmeal

  4. Awesome eats! Your photos look great! I love that you add frozen raspberries to your cereal, I do that now too!

    I’m glad to hear you got some pain medication..hopefully it well help!

    My current food obsession is actually raspberries! I ate an ENTIRE pint while studying today, haha!

  5. I eat Greek yogurt and oats everyday! All your eats look yummyyy! Especially the hummus bagel with cress? Which I’ve never heard of cress before, but it makes it adds a prettiness to that hummus ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. YUM – everything looks delish! Particularly your breakfast (I was totally craving weetabix this morning, but I didn’t have any ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) and that english muffin with the hummus and fresh cress. My current obsession is HUMMUS. Can’t get enough of it ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I about dropped my spoon! I thought I was the only person that enjoyed weetabix and I love using frozen fruits. This time of year it’s harder to find my favorites and the frozen ones last longer. Awesome:)

  8. All of your eats looks delicious!! The caramelize onion hummus sounds amazing! Where did you get that at? I would love to know! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. All your food look delicious – especially the muffin – the cress on top makes it look so pretty ๐Ÿ™‚
    I always get really nervous when I go to the doctors and never end up telling them what I want to because I get intimidated. Hopefully the new pain medication will help you and when you go back perhaps you will feel more comfortable to open up.

Leave a Reply

