A Quick Dose of Fitness Friday

Hey there!

Sorry for the lack of post yesterday, I didn’t really have anything interesting to say so I didn’t want to bore you all πŸ˜›

Anyway guess what…

…this afternoon I’m getting on the train to go and visit my boyfriend!!

I haven’t seen Tom in over a month now and so as you can imagine I’m really excited to spend the weekend with him πŸ™‚

This morning I enjoyed my typical breakfast whilst packing:

I do love my mixes and adding seeds is fantastic because it means a teeny bit of added protein!

This morning I’ve been tidying, packing, reading and finishing off an essay. Busy busy busy. But it’s worth it because I know this weekend I can just relax and have fun. I’m taking a number of books to read on the train anyway πŸ™‚

Lunch today was literally the only thing I have left to eat in the fridge! I haven’t bothered to go food shopping this week because I ate out for almost every meal last weekend and I knew I would only need a few dinners here.

It was still pretty tasty!

Right, now as you know, for the last couple weeks I’ve been pretty down because of my struggles to adjust, to get all of my work done and to deal with the pain. As a consequence of this I’ve been eating pretty badly. I know you’re probably wondering how as most of what I post up on here isn’t that bad, perhaps just a little carb heavy. The thing is, when I’m bored or upset I tend to snack. A lot. And I’m starting to feel the results of my poor diet: I’m often quite bloated, my energy is poor, I’m feeling sluggish and I just don’t feel as good in my own skin. So starting from today (there’s no time like the present!) I am going to be making a conscious effort to be eating a better, healthier diet. And this brings me to:

Fitness Friday!

Obviously I’m away this weekend so I won’t be concerned with working out but during the week I’m going to make a huge effort to get to the gym and just do a bit more exercise in general.

Monday – 30 Day Shred. I’m really going to try to start doing this several times a week again.
Tuesday – Gym: 10 minutes cross trainer, 20 minutes stationary bike.
Wednesday – Upper Body Strength Workout + Abs
Thursday – Gym: 10 minutes cross trainer, 20 minutes stationary bike
Friday – 30 Day Shred + maybe the gym if I have the energy

I’m sure that to some of you that probably sounds quite light but I have to be realistic. I’m still in quite a bit of pain most days and so I don’t want to push myself too hard. Plus as my exercise routine has been pretty poor lately I don’t want to aim too high too quickly!

Well anyway I’d best be off, I have my seminars to get to and then a train to catch πŸ™‚

I hope you’ve all had a great Friday and have a fantastic weekend!

How do you get back into a routine when you’ve been in a slump?
How do you stay motivated once you’re in a routine?

Sophie x

21 comments

  1. Hope you have a lovely weekend with Tom! You deserve a weekend away!
    I always say to myself your going to feel like crap of you don’t do it. I love the extra energy/adrenaline after working out…this motivates me to get into a routine and stick with it πŸ™‚

  2. I’m so glad for Fitness Friday! I think I may join you. You are doing exactly the right thing in terms of getting ‘back on track’. Not that you ‘fell off the track’ per se, but just a bit of readjustment!

    Your workout plan looks great! A nice bit of cardio with some strength..nice!

    Have a great weekend with your boyfriend! What books will you be reading?

    1. Thank you, I definitely need a bit of readjustment!
      Thank you πŸ™‚
      I read a book called ‘101 Sonnets’ edited and introduced by Don Paterson (I love his writing!) and I also read Richard II. Both really enjoyable reads!
      Hope you had a great weekend!

  3. You are so pretty, Sophie!

    I always forget I’ve got the 30 Day Shred. Perhaps that will be a November goal to actually DO the 30 Day Shred. Probably not, but maybe πŸ™‚ I love routine. I keep on my routine by sketching out a weekly to do list and trying to follow that. As far as exercise, I do the same thing and it’s kind of rewarding to meet my goals πŸ™‚

  4. Have a blast with your boyfriend! My husband and I had to do long distance several times, and there’s nothing like distance to make the heart grow fonder πŸ™‚
    To get back into exercising/maintaining a routine, I do exactly what you did here: map out a plan. Even if I don’t stick to it, it helps a lot!

  5. Enjoy your weekend – you totally deserve it.
    And I know the “no food in the fridge because I’m going home soon” dilema far too well – I’ve had some pretty exiting meals during times like these.

    Your exercise routine sounds great – good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

