Up And Down

Well this is has been some day!

I had a lie-in this morning to do some much needed reading. Have I ever mentioned that doing an English degree requires lots of reading? Well it does! In case that wasn’t already obvious 😛

I also ate a rather delicious and filling breakfast:

 A tasty mix of raw oats, vanilla flavoured low-fat natural yogurt and sliced banana. Definitely a breakfast to fill me up for the whole morning!

I’ve been feeling a little down if I’m honest since my family left, hence the lack of post yesterday and I had a bit of a cry on the phone to my mum this morning. I’m not afraid to admit it, it felt really helpful to talk to her and tell her about what’s worrying me at the moment. I’m really lucky to have such wonderful supportive parents! Thank you Maman 🙂

Lunch was an english muffin topped with my typical avocado mix: half an avocado crushed, one clove of garlic chopped finely, a squeeze of lemon juice and a liberal sprinkling of salt and cayenne pepper. Delicious. And what’s that I spy on the side? That would be an Innocent fruit tube!! My sister bought me a packet this weekend, they’re just little tubes containing something halfway between a fruit puree and a smoothie and they’re so lovely! I don’t even care the slightest bit if they’re childish…

This afternoon I had a drama workshop which was a lot more fun than anticipated. I can’t really join in with the acting which is a shame but watching the performances was interesting and gave me a few ideas for when I have to direct my extract (not for ages thankfully). There are so many really talented people at university!

When I got back I was feeling pretty exhausted so I had a relax with a little snack (I just wrote snake there by mistake – a clear example of how tired I am):

A cinnamon raisin bagel topped with honey and served with some extra raisins. Pretty yummy even if it was somewhat similar to my lunch. What can I say, I’m a creature of habit!

This evening I went round to the flat next door to have a chat with one of the lovely girls who lives there, she is an amazing musician and I love talking to her about music and things :-). She succeeded in lifting my morale which gave me the boost to go and actually cook something for dinner tonight. Result! I actually cooked some aubergine and garlic and served it with a little whole wheat pasta. I didn’t bother taking a picture, stir-fried aubergine doesn’t look particularly exciting 😛

I hope you all had good day, I missed posting yesterday but I will definitely be here tomorrow with an exciting WIAW post! Stay tuned…

What kind of a day did you have, up, down or both?
Do you find yourself eating very similar food several times a day or is variety the spice of life?

– I’m a mixed one when it comes to that, I love certain foods and will eat them over and over but I also like to change things up, I’d get bored with eating the same thing for dinner every night!

Sophie x

15 comments

  1. Hi Sophie 🙂 gosh I remember crying my eyes out the night my parents left me at uni….such a horrible feeling. I remember thinking that it didn’t smell like home and that the carpets were horrible. Sending you big hugs xxx

  2. I’m sorry your day was an up and down kind of day. Like I said a few days ago, feeling homesick is totally normal. It will get better this week and in the future!

    Your breakfast and lunch looks delicious! Yay for childish fruit tubes 🙂

    Have a great rest of your day!

  3. I always put cayenne in my home made guac! Avocados taste best spicy n salty. I have a mix of variety and repetitive foods. I used to eat bagels, broccoli, and cereal every day but now I’m currently eating oats, parmesan cheese, and peanut butter everyday. I eat stuff until I get sick of it and then switch to a new obsession. I’ve always done that haha.

  4. Yummy! I love everything you ate today! Cayenne is one of my favorite spices 😛 And those fruit tubes that your sister brought you are so neat! they remind me go gogurts! – yumm
    Sorry to hear about your up and down day – I find that talking to mom is the best remedy 🙂

  5. I’m sorry you felt down today, but it sounds like you had a good evening 🙂
    I like to eat different things, but like you there are certain things that I eat over and over again – green smoothies, yoghurt and muesli, rice cakes and nut butter …

  6. So far my day today is good, but it’s just started. I’m sorry you’re feeling homesick/lonely. I was really sad last week when my mom left after her visit. 23 years old and I still have a bit of a cry when my parents leave!

Leave a Reply

