“Life Isn’t About Waiting For The Storm To Pass”

“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain” (Anon)

I’ve been thinking about this quote a lot lately, ever since my mum sent my the image.

For me it is a particularly poignant quote in light of my condition. And speaking of which I just want to say a huge thank you for all of your wonderful comments and support. It really really means a lot to me that I have such lovely readers!

As I said in yesterday’s post I am struggling with my new life in terms of my physical issues. When I lived back at home full-time I never used to think of myself as handicapped let alone as actually being disabled. However coming to university, being independent and not having the comfort blanket of routine has shown me that I have to accept that I am now essentially disabled.

I walk with a cane.

I can’t walk for much longer than 15 minutes before feeling the ache grow and the exhaustion starting to mount.

I have to miss out on lots of student experiences because I just couldn’t physically take part.

But this quote reminds me that I can’t just sit passively and dwell on the pain and the struggle. For me, it’s as though there is a permanent storm above me and if I try to wait it out, I’ll be waiting forever. So I have to learn to “dance in the rain” so to speak.

And I think this doesn’t just apply to people like me with medical conditions. I think it can be applied to everybody’s life. People always get scared to try new things, worried about the consequences of putting themselves out there or too nervous to just let go of things holding them back. So everyone needs to get out there and dance, twirl and leap in the rain!

As a joke this morning Trelawney brought me round a little chocolate santa! I quickly set about beheading him and then gobbling up the rest of his rotund form :-P. Don’t worry I don’t start getting excited for Christmas till late November, I’m not a fan of commercialization!

Say hello to the beautiful Trelawney :-). We’ve been having a great time exploring both the uni and the city discovering all of the nicest cafes and restaurants. (Apologies for the slightly blurry photo!)

And because she’s so lovely she also brought me over a delicious (and again, completely out of season!) hot cross bun :-). Which I enjoyed with lovely melted butter and my splurge of the week: strawberries!

Today has been taken up by blog reading (it’s a must for my weekends), food shopping, work and just relaxing and chatting in the evening. As a consequence of my food shopping I was able to enjoy a lovely, veg filled dinner:

Veggie stir fry made up of broccoli, cauliflower, red pepper and mushrooms. Yummy!

And just so that you don’t think I’ve been eating ridiculously lightly today (not that I EVER post everything I eat!) I shall show you what I’ve been nibbling on throughout the afternoon:

Spicy bombay mix. There is nothing particularly healthy about it but I just love the dried chickpeas and the dried peas covered in spices.

Anyway I’d best say goodnight because I have quite a busy day tomorrow!

What quotes keep you going and help you stay positive?
When do you start getting excited for Christmas?

I hope you’re all having a great weekend 🙂

Sophie x

10 comments

  1. Sophie, you are incredibly strong and an inspiration. It’s truly amazing that you have such a positive attitude and choose to make the best of any ‘storm’. What a great reminder. Just today, my ‘storm’ was not being able to run in the race I signed up for, but you know what? Life’s too short to focus on the things that hold us back when there’s so much more to be accomplished. Everyday is a gift. Sounds cheesy, but it’s true!

    Stay strong and enjoy your weekend..those strawberries look delicious by the way!

  2. I just can’t help but admire your amazingly positive attitude. You are an inspiration!

    And that breakfast look divine – especially the strawberries – yum!

  3. Hot Cross buns a staple in my diet when Easter comes round!
    Love the quote. I think your doing an awesome job with all the challenges you have faced at uni. I know you will continue to attack each new hurdle that presents itself 🙂

  4. Hi. Thank you for sharing the great quote. I do really like it. This is completely true. And maybe it is hard to look at only the bright side in the life but it’s better to spend one day, one minute, one second with positive thoughts instead of negative ones. Hope you will get well soon.

  5. Just caught up with your last post–you’re so brave to share your struggles with us. It’s incredible how far you’ve come and how you’ve managed to keep up a positive attitude. Keep going! You’re a strong woman for having to deal with your pain in addition to starting college. *big hug*

  6. You have a great attitude about your situation. You’re more friendly, positive and cheerful than a lot of people, able-bodied or not. Life is seriously unfair, and it sucks that you have this condition, but it seems like you’re doing a great job of ‘dancing in the rain’ :]

    Yay for bombay mix! Who cares that it’s not healthy, it’s completely addictive!

Leave a Reply

