Think Twice Thursday

Phew, it’s been a pretty busy day!

I have an early start on Thursdays with a lecture and then seminar on the Beginnings of English.

What you are looking at, ladies and gentlemen, is my very first bowl of overnight oats! I went for a chocolatey version with raisins and pumpkin seeds mixed in. It was really quite nice and best of all, really filling which was especially important today as I couldn’t eat again till about 12.30pm and as this was eaten at around 7am I had a long time to go!

My lecture and seminar were quite interesting, the text we’re studying is The Tale of Sir Gareth of Orkeney from Thomas Malory’s Morte Darthur. I have to say, the sections of the Morte Darthur that I’ve read are not really the kind of literature I’m in to but it is interesting to study Middle English and look at the way language has changed.

Lunch was more veg curry leftover from the other day. It’s a really nice easy curry and it includes one of my favourites: butternut squash 🙂

This afternoon was time for two more classes, a seminar group called Academic Community and a lecture on Language and Context. The seminar was good but only myself and one other girl in the group had done the preparation which meant that the tutor got us to do most of the talking. Usually I wouldn’t mind, after all I do like to talk, the only issue I had was that this is only the second of these classes we’ve had and I don’t want to come over too strong to the others. Earning the nickname of a ‘know-it-all’ this fast wouldn’t be great!

The lecture though, WOW. It was so fascinating and engaging! The lecturer was funny and knew how to make his subject the best it can be. The lecture was on the topic of accents and phonetics. He gave really interesting examples such as how the police brought in a phonetics expert to track down the Yorkshire Ripper from the tape sent in (which turned out to be a hoax) and how he was able to track the man’s origins down to a few streets in a town in Yorkshire and to determine what school he attended all from the way he spoke! How amazing is that? He was also brilliant at accents and described the way the various English accents all developed and how and why they differ so much.

This evening I was off to the gym again, this time just for a speedy go on the crosstrainer and the stationary bike. As I didn’t go for long (I don’t want to push myself too hard too fast) I worked my legs off and wobbled back to make my dinner:

It’s one of my absolute favourite dishes – roast ratatouille. I had it with yummy apple and pork sausages and strong mustard. It was delicious! And I’ve got a whole tuppaware box full of the ratatouille sitting in the fridge to have during the week :-). I can see it now topping pasta, with a bagel, on top of pittas…

Now to the title of the post:

Today’s lecture got me really thinking about the fact that most of us really don’t know that much about the origins of our accents. So much has affected the way we speak. The way I speak is completely different from the way someone living just 100 miles away from me speaks.

It made me think back to something my mother told me the other week. She’s a French tutor and one of her classes is an intermediate class at the local university and this term she has a girl who is completely deaf. She isn’t deaf from birth, she went deaf when she was little but she’d already learnt to talk so she speaks pretty much like anyone with perfect hearing. However what really amazes and impresses me is that by lip-reading, she can learn to speak French and according to my mother, is the best in the class! How does this relate to the lecture? Not only can she lip-read fluently, she can distinguish different accents by the way people form their words! How incredible is that? It really made me think about how important different accents are in forming our sense of identity and culture.

Anyway, just a thought for the day 🙂

How much importance do you place on your accent?
What’s your favourite breakfast for hectic days and which fill you up?

Sophie x

5 comments

  1. Ratatouille this is a family fave in my house! That’s so cool your mum’s a french tutor…this was my first language 🙂
    Interesting post. Even here in Australia accents differ depending on if you come from the country/city. I think in most cases I’m pretty good at picking out where ppl are from, partly because English wasn’t my first language. I found through High school I performed better in learning other languages. So I studied Japanese & French all way till I graduated.

  2. Oats & protein pancakes always fill me up. In the morning I need lots of protein & carbs to keep me full. I’m gonna start making overnight oats next week so I can sleep in a little longer 😉

Leave a Reply

