You Spin Me Right Round

Yes that’s right, I went to my first ever spin class today!

But more on that later…

Sorry for disappearing on you like that, I just felt so rotten that I couldn’t even contemplate blogging. Not to mention that quite frankly I did nothing of interest and would have just bored you with moaning tales of my headache!

Just so you know I have a brilliant post coming up for you tomorrow, I’m going to the restaurant with Trelawney as a late birthday treat so there should be some (hopefully) delicious looking food photos for you.

Lunch today: a veggie samosa, pringles and grapes. The samosa was really tasty (found in the sainsbury’s deli counter near the meat section).

Today I had the one seminar I wasn’t looking forward to. The drama workshop.

But, as in nearly every instance, I was shown that you shouldn’t judge something before you try it. I think I do this a lot. When nervous about something outside of my comfort zone I tend to work myself up in to a bit of a state, even when it really shouldn’t be a big deal. What is that about?? Anyway it was actually quite fun! I have to direct a 5 minute extract of a play in a couple of months…walk in the park right?

Dinner was what is fast becoming one of my favourite meals.

Chilli & Garlic Courgette Pasta (serves 2)

2 smallish courgettes
2 garlic cloves, chopped
a teaspoon of chilli flakes
half a teaspoon of mixed herbs
a tablespoon of olive oil
150g of whole wheat pasta
a pinch of salt

  • Cut the courgette in half and then cut into fourΒ length-ways. Then slice these pieces into thin slithers.
  • Cook the pasta in boiling water with a small pinch of salt.
  • Meanwhile, heat the oil in a pan and add the garlic and courgettes. When the pasta is nearly cooked add the chilli flakes and the herbs.
  • Drain the pasta and pour into the pan with the courgette and mix till all of the pasta is coated in the garlic oil.
  • Then serve!
It’s ridiculously simple and yet so yummy πŸ™‚
It’s probably beneath a lot of skilled cooks but as a busy student with a small student kitchen it’s a tasty, quick and relatively cheap meal to make.
Now on to the fun stuff. As the title suggests, this evening was my first spin class. It was a good experience but slightly daunting.
Lets talk about the class itself. It turns out it wasn’t a proper spin class, it was actually a mix of stationary bike and rowing. No problem for me, the instructor was fine with me just staying on the bike. It wasn’t a very long class, only about half an hour by the time everyone was set up and ready. Not a problem for me as it was my first time spinning so it’s good to ease in. The other way it wasn’t really a ‘proper’ spin class was that it didn’t include all of the typical sections you’d expect such as hill climbs. It was basically an interval class. Again though, not really a problem for me, I quite like doing intervals and I just turned the resistance up to make it harder work. And the best bit? Practically no increase in my pain levels!
The only real negative for me were the other people in the class. Now this is going to be a bit of a rant so if you don’t feel like reading something negative skip this paragraph.
Some of the people in the class were like me, there to have fun and work hard. Some people, however, were there because they want attention or because of other issues. It’s irritating when you’re there sweating away, concentrating hard, and they’re sat there giggling. If you’re still capable of talking and you haven’t got the slightest drop of sweat on you, you’re not working hard enough! It’s not that I have a problem with people not wanting to work out hard, it’s just that why would you go to what’s supposed to be an intensive cardio class? It just got on my nerves! It was even more annoying because they were fairly thin and dressed in sports gear and yet they weren’t taking it seriously. It makes you wonder if they were there to attention-seek!
Anyway, rant over πŸ˜›
In a more comic light, here is a picture of what I looked like when I came back:
But I was soon perked up again by my post-workout snack:
And now I’m off for a bit of this before bed:
Night everybody πŸ™‚
Sophie x
22 comments

  1. I feel ya- I hate people like that! It’s like did you really do your makeup and dress up all pretty to work out, or just to get attention?!
    About the class though- spin is my all time favorite. I feel bad your experience wasn’t so great but would def encourage you to try again.

  2. Ha! If you’re giggling, you’re doing it wrong!
    Go you. I did my first one a little bit ago but don’t have a gym membership anymore. One day. I enjoyed my class a lot minus the butt-bone pain πŸ™‚ And I sweat a lot and didn’t giggle at all really. I think I said some bad words under my breath. Shhh don’t tell!

  3. That pasta looks delicious!
    Urgh @ annoying people at the gym. Some people just like to show off. I once went to a circuits class and afterwards everyone was drenched in sweat and nearly collapsing, except for this one girl who was talking very loudly about how the class wasn’t hard at all and she was going straight to another one. Grr.
    How are you enjoying Turn of the Screw? x

  4. People who just mess around in exercise classes and at the gym really wind me up! At the gym I used to go to the weights area seemed like a youth club for weedy teenage boys – I never saw any of them actually lifting!
    That courgette pasta dish looks delicious – courgettes are one of my favourite veggies.

Leave a Reply

