How Do You Stop The Pounding?

First of all, thank you so much, all of you, for your lovely supportive comments! My back is much better today, none of the hideous twinges left from yesterday. It also means a lot that you all say that you’d welcome the developments and changes and that you’d all still read πŸ™‚

Sometimes, like today, my posts will be very much the same format as before, mostly pictures of my food accompanied by inaneΒ fascinating details from my day!

Although my back was better this morning, my head has been absolutely pounding since the moment I woke up. So breakfast was a comfort affair: toasted cinnamon and raisin bagel with a handful or extra raisins. Easy, warm and frankly yummy food.

Because of my headache I stayed in bed with the lights off for most of the morning, I just couldn’t face lifting my head off the pillow because it hurt so much every time I tried. I know what you’re thinking “Is this girl always ill/in pain??” and I can imagine it certainly looks that way at the moment. But the thing is I’m pretty sure that when my back and hips play up more than usual, my body can’t deal with it so it transfers the pain to my head. I have no idea of the biology of that, or indeed, if it’s even true! Anyone care to enlighten me?

Lunch was delicious, I had some of the leftover veg curry from last week served with spicy harissa couscous. I know curry and couscous don’t traditionally go together but I don’t much like rice and I didn’t have any naan bread and you know what, I thought it was a lovely match! πŸ˜›

This afternoon I did a bit of decorating:

My mum sent me a lovely image with one of my favourite quotes “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain”. So I used it as the centrepiece of my display and surrounded it by photos. I didn’t have enough photos of my friends so I will have to add to it when I’ve printed some more off. It’s nice to have photos of Tom and my family up though, it makes me smile whenever I look at them πŸ™‚

A simple simple smoothie of mango, milk and ice. Simple and tasty. A good headache remedy.

This afternoon I did a few chores and some reading. My modern lit book for this week is The Turn of the Screw by Henry James so that’s what I’ll be reading for the next couple of days. That and A Book of Middle English… Wish me luck!

Dinner was quick and easy too (spotting a theme?), spaghetti on a bed of rocket, tossed with garlic, chilli and olive oil and sprinkled with parmesan.

Do you get headaches on a regular basis? Do you eat any weird food combinations?

Sophie x

39 comments

  1. Mmm that dinner looks good- nice and simple which is what I’m looking for this evening. After watching football and baking all day I need something simple!

  2. Love that quote your mom sent you – it’s one of my faves and very Project Think Positive. πŸ˜‰ I don’t think I eat any really weird food combos…one that comes to mind is an avocado dessert my mom makes. It’s basically mashed avocado with milk and sugar. I think it may be a Filipino thing, but I guess most people associate avocado with savory things, not avocado + sugar. lol

  3. I used to suffer really badly from migraines but luckily I don’t anymore *touches wood*
    I think that the body is all connected though, especially your back and head. Hope the headache is gone now lovely!

  4. I used to get headaches a lot in elementary school. The first thing I do is drink a huge glass of water because headaches usually mean dehydration for me. Your pasta looks great! It reminds me of the butter/breadcrumb-topped noodles my dad used to make for my sister and me.

  5. Your bagal looks yum, in fact everything does! Aw sucks about the headache, I get bad wine hangovers but thats it really. I love stuff like chicken curry but with bread instead of rice!

  6. your dinner looks delish. Sorry about all your headaches. I hope you feel better. I get random painful headaches when I’m exhausted and haven’t slept enough.

  7. Hi, I happened to find your blog through one of my favorite healthy bloggers. Your posts and the introduction page of LoveLiveandLearn have inspired me so much. I see your wisdom in choosing beautiful words and proverbs as your favorites.

    I also pay attention to being healthy as much as I can and write he blog about healthy ingredients. May I link your blog to mine? Will come by again. Thank you!

  8. Headaches can be caused by a lot of foods. I’m sure you know alcohol is a culprit but also spicy foods can give a lot of folks headaches. The sulfur content in wine is another problem for some.
    Anyway – you must be on the mend so take care.

  9. I actually get headaches close to never, but I hateeeee them, so this is probably a good thing. Hope you’re feeling better!

  10. I do get headaches on a regular basis…well I did. I ended up having to go off the birth control pill b/c that’s what was causing it. So I don’t know. I love your re-decorating /w all the pics. So cute.

  11. I’m sorry you’ve got a headache! I’m lucky enough that I don’t suffer with headaches often, but when I had back problems I did get them and my chiropractor said it was to do with the imbalance in my spine. I also get a very painful and clicky jaw when I have lower body pain … weird!
    Your breakfast looks yummy – very comforting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

