What I Ate Wednesday No.11

Sometimes I just don’t know how to start posts!

It’s like when you get an essay and you sit, pen poised over the paper, wracking your brain for an interesting, intelligent and imaginative way to start.

In those circumstances, I like to start with a quotation.

So here’s one for you:

“Knowing yourself is the beginning of all wisdom.”
– Aristotle

I think it’s incredibly true and something we need to remember. University seems to me to be the best place to start really knowing myself and understanding who I really am! 

Anyway now that I’ve found a suitable way to start my post onto the main content…

It’s time for another of Jenn’s brilliant creation!

It’s What I Ate Wednesday 🙂

So as is traditional, I’ll start from the beginning with breakfast.

A bowl of weetabix mush with oats, raisins and pumpkins seeds. Delicious!

I was up early this morning (well, early for a student anyway) because I had a lecture at 9am. Studying Modern Literature. It was amazing, really it was. It was an hour and a half and I noticed that lots of people lost concentration but I was pretty much captivated the entire time! (As I said yesterday – massive literature nerd alert :-P)

After my lecture I spent some time reading in a really pretty garden behind the lecture theatre, there is a lot of reading to be done with an English degree, funnily enough.

I didn’t bother going back to the flat because at lunch the Impact Magazine (uni magazine) was having a drop-in session to go and sign up for the various different sections of the magazine. I signed up for Features, Arts and Food (obviously!). I also signed up to be part of the photography section which is a little daunting as I’m hardly an expert but I figured I might as well give it a go :-). I’m excited to write my first article!

Lunch was a repeat of the other day:

A bagel with avocado, you can’t go wrong, it’s just so tasty!

This afternoon was a trip in to town with my new friend, I figure I should probably give you her name rather than continuing to call her “my new friend” – she’s called Trelawney. Like Professor Trelawney from Harry Potter!

I bought two new long-sleeved tops, I really needed some what with the colder weather approaching. Before I arrived here that would have been fairly normal however, since becoming a student, spending more than £10 at once (excluding books) feels incredibly extravagant!

Obviously when I walk anywhere, I can’t last for long so a coffee trip was a necessity. For once I’m not complaining ;-).

Iced coffee, accompanied with…

The most delicious slice of apple, raisin and cinnamon cake I have EVER tasted. Seriously amazing. We shared it because it was a hefty slice but wow. I’ll be dreaming about that cake for years to come!

The tea shop was really adorable. I absolutely love independent cafes and tea shops but this was really something special.

I’ll definitely be going again. They have lots more delicious looking food and next time I want to try a fruit smoothie!

Today was pretty exhausting but I loved every minute of it. I really love living here and all of the opportunities on offer are amazing 🙂

Tonight was another cooking night. The aspect of uni cooking I have yet to perfect is definitely portion size. Back at home I tend to weigh things but I don’t have any scales here so I have to take a wild guess make a scientific estimate…

I made spaghetti carbonara but instead of using bacon, which I’m really not a fan of, I used mushroom and onion. It was really quite tasty. Next time I think I’ll use a bit less cream though, it was a little too liquid for my liking.

Anyway I’m off to read some Middle English!

Tomorrow afternoon I have to take a trip back home for an MRI scan but I’m back in uni the following lunchtime. It’s going to be a little hectic but oh well.

Night night blogworld 🙂

Sophie x

12 comments

  1. Ooh, are you writing for the student magazine? How exciting! For some stupid reason I never wrote for mine, but I did some proofreading. I can’t figure out why I never did now, especially as I need more things to go on my CV! I loved my Modern literature lectures – what books are you studying? At some point before I’m 30 I want to do an MA in Modern & Contemporary Literature :]

    Bagel with avocado… iced coffee… spaghetti carbonara… are you trying to torture me? Three of my favourite things to eat/drink! That coffee shop looks adorable too.

    1. Well I’m hoping too, it’s such a good opportunity and from what I’ve read in the magazine I think I can match the standard 🙂
      I’m absolutely adoring mine too! I’m doing The Turn of the Screw by Henry James this week, we work chronologically so this is the oldest modern lit we’re doing!
      Aw sorry, they all were pretty tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

