A Reading Day

Today is a reading day.

I’ve had one lecture so far and yet I’ve been set two lots of work (neither for the lecture I’ve had) to do by Thursday and Friday.

But you know what?

I’m really enjoying having work to do again!

When I first started at secondary school I loved doing my work in the evening (massive nerd alert!) and I never completely got rid of my like for a routine whichΒ involves structured work.

Something about it just satisfies me.

Lunch today doesn’t exactly fit in with the image of a healthy-living blog – pizza. But one of my flatmates offered me a bit of the pizza he was cooking (re-heating) and who am I to turn down free food? On the whole I am already known as the “healthy one” but I don’t want to make my flatmates feel like I’m preachy or snobby about food so junk food is just a reality I’m planning on living with occasionally.

This afternoon was food shopping time. I had several fresh ingredients to buy as well as a couple of extras. Have I mentioned how much I love the little local farm shop in the neighbourhood? Oh, I have? Well I’m going to carry on mentioning it! I bought 6 free rangeΒ eggs, mushrooms, a carrot, an avocado, an onion, a garlic bulb and a banana all for Β£2.80 πŸ™‚

I went shopping with the friend I mentioned yesterday and on the way in we decided to stop for coffee. I got an iced latte frappe which was pretty tasty but a little too sweet so I couldn’t finish it. It’s nice having someone to go to the cafe with, I missed that about home before. The neighbourhood around campus is lovely, really friendly and compact with everything you could need (excluding clothes shops but seriously, how often will I buy clothes) and it’s just a brief walk or a quick cycle in which is great for me!
Today I also finally found the time to join the gym πŸ™‚
I really cannot wait to start going and the fitness classes sound fantastic, I’m going to have a hard time choosing which classes to pick because I can’t possibly go to all of them!
I’m quite pleased with myself this evening. Not only did I cook a healthy, tasty dinner, I also made a positive move towards fulfilling one of my October goals because I made plenty enough to freeze about two to three portions. Pretty good going if you ask me!
Anyway I’m afraid I’ll have to leave it at that because I really need get back to my reading, I’ve got a way to go. It’s The Good Soldier if anyone’s interested in giving some modern English literature a try. It’s not an easy read but it’s very well written and the story is intriguing from the word go.
Has anyone got any good fitness class suggestions for me (apart from Body Pump – they don’t offer it)?
What are you reading at the moment?

Sophie x
19 comments

  1. I’ve really embraced my love for pizza lately and I don’t see it as “junk”, as long as you don’t have it all the time.
    Fitness classes – I love all sorts – circuits, yoga, boxercise, Body Combat, pilates, step, spinning … I’ve tried them all! Maybe try out a few classes and then choose the ones you like and fit in with your schedule. Variety is the spice of life πŸ™‚

  2. Mmm but pizza is so delicious. It’s totally not “junk” if you don’t eat it obsessively.

    Turbokick!! If they have it. I adore turbokick… or hip hop hustle… or piyo. Nike training club is pretty awesome too πŸ™‚ Good luck!!

  3. Recently I tried Pilates for the first time and really like it. I’m also a big Zumba and Spinning fan so maybe give those a try!

  4. Dont worry about having pizza and not looking healthy. Who cares, we all know you eat well, and your definitely allowed that stuff every now and then. I have to admit the dough on that pizza looks pretty good!

  5. I need structure too. By the end of summer, I actually kind of want some homework. Now I can’t imagine thinking that haha.
    Just curious, do your flatmates know about your blog? I know when I had roommates, I’d only take pictures when they were out of the room. I always wonder how other bloggers handle their blog/picture-taking around others.

  6. I’ve tried zumba, boxercise and circuits at my uni which were all fun! There’s one called legsbumsandtums too which sounds so boring though. Glad you had a fun day, the frappe sounds majorly yummy. A healthy living blog means living the way you want to! I’m the health junky around my friends too so totally relate but still had an entire pizza hut regualr to myself yesterday, there’s plenty of opportunities for us to make a tortilla pizza with a mountain of veg another day!!

Leave a Reply

