A Swans’ Picnic

Lunch today was my fifth restaurant meal of the week (not bad huh) but unfortunately it was hands down the worst.

I’m not often one to really criticise restaurants.

I just like food.

(I am aware of how that sounds!)

I mean I’ll even say McDonald’s is pretty tasty.

However this restaurtant was just awful.
We walk in and there are about 6 waitresses standing around at the entrance but it takes a good two minutes before one actually comes to see us.

Then it was a good five minutes before we were brought a menu.

When it came to ordering drinks she came back with three of them and informed me that they “didn’t do” apple juice. They only had orange. Fine. Not only that though, they didn’t have the drink my mum ordered either. Even though this restaurant has a bar.

Anyway moving on, to be fair to them, the starter wasn’t badly cooked, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Smoked chicken with peppers and corn fried rice.

The main was…interesting.

Couscous stuffed mushrooms. Nice idea, only the couscous wasn’t fully cooked. So it was crunchy. Like I said, interesting.

Along with the main courses came roast potatoes and cooked veg. The potatoes were actually quite good. The veg? Well lets just say it seemed to have been in a steamer for the last three hours. The broccoli was brown.

Not great to be completely honest.

The only redeeming factor was the dessert.

Ice cream. Shop bought ice cream.

My mum’s dessert was not the redeeming factor of her meal. The raspberries decorating her summer pudding were mouldy. Seriously.

Luckily we didn’t have to pay for that particular pudding.

Unfortunately we still had to pay for the rest!

Right, I’m over my rant now 😛

The nice thing about the restaurant (yes there is a positive, there always is) is that it’s set right by the river.

It made for a lovely walk after the meal.

What was your worst ever restaurant experience?

Sophie x

18 comments

  1. I would have said something about the crunchy couscous. I enjoy dining out! But when the food isn’t that great the experience is just blah.
    Can’t think of my worst restaurant experience…few have been questionable. Overall most have been alright 🙂

  2. Luckily I’ve not had many bad restaurant experiences. The worst was at an Italian chain restaurant where the service was terrible and the food even worse!
    Sorry you had a bad meal, but you had some good ones this week too 🙂

  3. I don’t think I’d eat there again.
    We went to a very popular place long ago in a neighboring village. The parmesan cheese was green. We never went back.
    Be grateful of the beautiful location. 🙂

  4. I’m sorry you didn’t have a good experience– the thing that upsets me the most are when the workers are too caught up in their own lives to help you properly!

  5. ugh! I’m sorry you had to go through that! Mouldy raspberries? EW. See, your way nicer than I would have been! I would have said something, or got up and walked out, especially if the service wasn’t great and the food sucked! This is why I avoid eating out. 😛

  6. Uhh, that doesn’t sound good! I worked as a waitress this summer, and if I saw moldy berries on a plate I would pick them off before they go to the customer! Yikes! Sounds like bad service 😦

Leave a Reply

