Lessons In Self-Realisation

I always think new environments teach you something new or at least make your realise something about yourself.

My work this week has shown me that, although I still have my issues, I have grown hugely in confidence.

Today I walked home with face paint on (albeit only two streets) and I didn’t care about what people passing by thought. Even when a couple gave me rather strange looks I just smiled and walked on by.

It makes me realise I’ve already come a long way!

(Breakfast was a bowl of weetabix mush and a load of fresh raspberries thrown in, delicious)

I’ve had issues with self-confidence since I was about 12 and I’ve never really got past them, however, for a while now, I’ve wanted to move on and just start enjoying life (kind of what this blog is about really) and I finally feel like I’m getting there!

I think working with children brings out the best in most people 🙂

It was my last day working for this summer today and so afterwards I met Tom and we decided to just have nice date night in. Although I love going out to restaurants etc, I do love just spending the evening relaxing at home and enjoying his wonderful company.

I felt like an indulgent meal tonight and this was pretty much as indulgent as it gets!Tagliatelle in a creamy tomato sauce with bacon and chilli. It’s ridiculously filling but SO yummy!

I’ve loved my work this summer and I will definitely go back next year :-). It does feel good to know I have my free time back though, I want to get back into my routine!

Sophie x

10 comments

  1. I agree with you on that one working with kids most definitely brings out another side of you 🙂 I worked Coordinating Children ‘s Birthday Parties for close to 5 years, also was a OSHC (outside school hours care) coordinator, went and spent 1 month in Ghana and volunteered in an orphanage.

    yay for not caring what people think!! Life is just too short!

    1. Wow that’s pretty impressive! I really want to go volunteer with children sometime soon, I’ve just not had the oppurtunity so far!
      I agree, life is too short to care about what people think 🙂
      Have a good weekend!

    1. They really do, it’s one of the reasons I love working with them!
      It’s really tasty, there’s nothing healthy about it but it really does make you want to savour every bite!
      Have a good weekend 🙂

  2. I think you’re right about new environments teaching you different things about yourself, always good!
    Thank you for the comment on my blog and I love your raspberry pictures – the header and this breakfast 🙂

  3. Aww-I’m happy to hear that!!! Life is too short to constantly worry about other people thoughts about you. I always think “i’ll never see this person again, so why care?” and “they’re going to think what they’re going to think. I have no power over it”. Thats helped me with my self confidence issues.
    I ❤ Raspberries! 🙂

  4. Glad you’re learning from and enjoying your job 🙂 Also pleased to hear your self-confidence is boosting, because that’s always extremely welcome 🙂 Yummy pasta!

Leave a Reply

