Introducing…Tom

I have been promising an introductory post about Tom (aka the Boyfriend) for a while now but I haven’t been home long enough recently to find the time so here it is!

Where do I begin?

The two of us before Tom's Sixth Form Leavers' Ball in 2008 🙂

“Girl meets boy whilst singing” would be a fairly accurate (albeit brief) explanation.

We met a little over three and a half years ago at a rehearsal for the county youth choir we are both part of. He was standing across the choir, looking tall, dark and handsome and cracking jokes with the director. I think that’s what drew me to him. He was funny and quick-witted, not to mention gorgeous.

You could say it was love at first sight 😉

We flirted; as any two teenagers would (he was 17, myself 15).
On the last day of the course he asked me for my number, texted me that evening and we went from there.

Almost three and a half years later we’re still together, doing the whole long-distance thing throughout the term and coming together again in the holidays (Tom is about to begin his fourth and final year at university studying engineering).

When I think back to myself at 15 I can hardly believe everything that has happened since but I know that if there’s one thing I’m thankful for, it’s that I met Tom.

He has helped me through some very difficult times, held me when I hurt, spoken to me for hours on the phone when I felt lonely, supported me through my struggles with chronic pain and disordering eating and yet still remains as witty and affectionate as when we first got together.

I’d have run a mile by now if I was him!

A more recent picture: the two of us before my Leavers' Ball last month (July 2011) 🙂

Altogether I want to say thank you Tom (I know you’re reading), you mean everything to me and I love you with all my heart!

So there you have it, a vague, and probably rather soppy sounding, introduction to Tom, my “other half” 😛

I’m sure you’ll see a lot more of him on the blog and who knows, maybe one day I’ll let him write a post!

Sophie x

13 comments

  1. I got teary-eyed reading the part about Tom supporting you through everything and still loving you just the same. I can totally relate–my boyfriend helped me get through disordered eating too and I’m always surprised about how unconditional his love is. You and Tom are so special! Thank you for the intro. 🙂

Leave a Reply

