A food-filled afternoon

Thank you for your sympathies, I definitely have a cold but, other than being a bit sniffly, I really don’t feel that bad. I definitely think that being healthy really boosts your immune system! And despite being ill today has still been a pretty good day 🙂

I relaxed after lunch with a book and then tidied my room which always makes me feel better (I’m not sure what that says about me?) 😛

Then I felt that it was time for something more productive and fun. Isn’t the internet a great cooking tool? My sister, Alice, and I really felt like baking, but none of the usual cookies/cupcakes/muffins seemed appealing, so we both sat at our laptops untill inspiration hit…Florentines! We found a pretty simple recipe and got going straight away.

Florentines
Slightly adapted from a recipe on Channel 4’s food website
(makes 15 – 18)

  • 50g unsalted butter
  • 50g golden castor sugar
  • 2 tsp runny honey
  • 50g plain flour
  • 40g chopped mixed candied peel
  • 40g mixed glacé cherries, chopped
  • 50g toasted flaked almonds, lightly crushed
  • 150g dark chocolate

Pre-heat oven to 180°C. Line  2 large baking trays with non-stick baking paper.

Melt the butter, sugar and honey in a pan over a medium/low heat, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Remove from the heat and allow to cool to room temp.

Pour flour into a mixing bowl and stir in the sugar and butter mixture, candied peel, glacé cherries and flaked almonds.

Using your hands, shape the mixture into small mounds on the baking trays, spaced apart, and press down on the mounds lightly.

Bake for about 10 minutes until golden, checking the colour of the Florentines every now and then (ours took slightly longer but we have an old oven!). Leave to cool for 5 minutes to firm up and then transfer to a wire rack.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl (we did it in the microwave). Once the Florentines have firmed up, dip the flat side into the chocolate and place on a baking tray covered with clean baking paper. Drizzle the remaining chocolate over the Florentines to decorate. Place tray in the fridge. Serve once the chocolate has set.

I love baking with my sister, it’s such a nice way to find the time to bond and chat! Plus you get to share the washing up 😛

Then in the time between baking and dinner I watched ‘Harry Potter: Behind the Scenes’ on TV which made me even more excited (if that’s even possible) to see the film! I can’t believe it’s all coming to a close, for me Harry Potter sort of represents my childhood so it really feels like the end of an era!

Dinner tonight was definitely a family affair as my sister leaves for a two-day expedition tomorrow. We started with some yummy appetizers:

And enjoyed a delicious main course of tarragon and mustard chicken served with crushed potatoes and salad. Yum!

Well that’s all for today my lovelies, I hope you had a good weekend!

Sophie x

6 comments

  1. I love florentines! Those ones look delicious!
    I read somewhere that healthy people are more likely to have cold symptoms because they are more likely to have an immune repsonse to the cold virus, but it tends to be milder and over more quickly than for the average person.

  2. Hey Sophie! Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    I love baking with my sister too! It makes it way more fun! (especially when we both mess something up!)
    I haven’t thought about florentines in a long time! I might have to give those a try soon!

Leave a Reply

