There is always a positive

I’m afraid today is mainly photo free, I ended up spending 4 hours in the hospital and for obvious reasons I didn’t have my camera. So unfortunately no pictures of the wholemeal chicken salad baguette and the blueberry granola yogurt I ate for lunch in the hospital cafeteria!

It can be quite frustrating having to wait around in small, stuffy waiting rooms, quite frustrating being told that referrals are going to take a while to go through as the clinic has a typing backlog of a whole month and it can be frustrating sitting in a group session listening to people give you advice when you’ve been doing everything they advise for years. But then you remember that there is always a positive side to things. In England hospital care is free and, what with the spending cuts, getting treatment of any sort is lucky in itself. And the advice for things you’ve already been doing? View it as positive reinforcement which shows you that the effort you’ve been making is the right thing to do.

Lots of things happen in life which frustrate us or make us feel like giving up. Often things completely out of our own control. But I do think that usually, especially when it’s something fairly small or mundane, there is a positive side if you look hard enough. Life is too short to be unhappy, it’s always easy to dwell in the negative, to complain and to give up, but you have to remember, there is always a positive.

 

The info I got from my group session at the clinic, mostly common sense I have to say, but it was nice to know that I’m doing things right!

My treat when I got home from the hospital: a huuuge strawberry milkshake made of frozen banana, loads of strawberries, vanilla extract, milk and a handful of ice πŸ™‚

Tomorrow I start work at a children’s holiday play scheme based on art and craft activities. I did it for a week last summer and it’s quite a lot of fun. The children are always so sweet! I’m working for the next 3 days and then another week later in August. The only downside is that I actually have to get up and get ready at a “reasonable” time in the morning! Plus I have to drive which I have to admit I’m not a big fan of.

Dinner tonight was enjoyed with my family :-). We had pork burgers which I really didn’t feel like when we sat down to eat but actually thoroughly enjoyed! Served with both a tomato and a green salad plus a little new potato left over from the weekend:

Yay for fresh summer fruits πŸ™‚

Hope you all had a less frustrating Tuesday than mine!

Sophie x

7 comments

  1. You’ve always been so upbeat about things that would make most people complain for hours!!! And you’re probably a stronger person than most of us having had to deal with your pain! πŸ™‚ Dreadfully jealous of your strawberry milkshake – i think i’ll have to try out my new blender! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

