Relax, take it e-e-easy

Gosh I love being free. It’s not like I’ve even been doing that much but just being able to say today I want to do this and then actually have the time and energy to actually do it is wonderful! Today was a lovely relaxing day, as the title of the post suggests. First off I made myself a really tasty breakfast, something that’s fairly new to my breakfast “repitoire”, a really thick smoothie bowl. I got the idea from the lovely Freya at Brit Chick Runs who often features gorgeous creamy smoothies in her day. You should totally check her out if you haven’t already by the way, she’s great fun plus she’s an English girl like me!

Smoothie containing a frozen banana, a handful of blueberries, a handful of raspberries, a teaspoon of almond butter, a tablespoon of fat-free natural yoghurt and topped with Cheerios and oats 🙂

After taking my time to get ready, my mum and I cycled in to town to see an art exhibition of Italian Renaissance sketches which was pretty good, I particularly liked the studies of the human body. Unfortunately no pictures were allowed :-(. And afterwards (this is reading a bit like a timeline sorry!) we went out for lunch to a lovely vegetarian cafe which also does lots of vegan and gluten-free food. I had a delicious 7 vegetable and chickpea couscous and a glass of pomegranate juice.

It was such a cute little cafe, you have go down a little passageway to get there then down some stairs and enter what feels a little bit like an Aladdin’s cave. It’s pretty small but the walls are painted bright sunshine yellow and there are random assorted fairy lights and indian style decorations all over the place. It’s a bit quirky but I like it and the menu’s just up my street. All vegetarian and with loads of vegan and gluten-free options too. Whilst I’m not strictly speaking a vegetarian, I do try to really limit my meat intake plus vegan options usually mean loads of veg which is a definite positive!

I came home to find this:

Isn’t Poppy cute? She’s so precious I let her get away with way too much but I can’t help it, I’m soft!

I spent the rest of the afternoon at my leisure (doesn’t that sound pleasant), mainly reading and snacking on a cupcake 🙂

My new Women’s Fitness arrived today so I dived into that and now that I’ve finished with revision and exams etc I finally have the mental energy to read the books I love and challenge myself with new ones like this one: Anna Karenina. I’m really enjoying it so far, the emotional and moral conflicts, the love triangle, the social and historical background, it’s all fascinating!

Anyway I want to get back to my books and I need some shuteye so goodnight!

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

