Sizzling Science – a foodie show

I woke up today thinking “Urgh it does not feel like summer today!” as the sky was completely overcast. It keeps threatening to pour with rain still, although the wind seems to be so strong that the clouds are moving pretty fast, I can see some blue there somewhere! Anyway as its England you get used to these things and I have plans to make today a nice and productive day whatever the weather 🙂

Breakfast today: A weetabix, a handful of shredded wheat topped with blueberries and a sprinkle of cinnamon 🙂

Yesterday evening my sister and I went to see a talk called ‘Sizzling Science – with added spice’. It was part talk/part cooking demonstration given by some top nutritionists and the winner of Master Chef India 2010. The talk was  given by Dr Susan Jebb from MRC Human Nutrition Research and it was quite interesting, although I know lots on the subject of healthy eating there were still some facts that jumped out at you as pretty shocking:

  • Almost 1 in 4 adults in the UK are obese (source: Health Survey for England)
  • More than 2 million adults in the UK have diabetes
  • Average saturated fat intakes are 30% higher than the recommended amount
  • Only 1 in 6 people meet the recommended sugar intake (5 in 6 people exceed it!)

After the talk, which also included tips on how to cut down on things like saturated fat, sugar and salt (they were all fairly obvious) the show moved on to the cooking demonstration. This part was fun to watch, the chef made 5 different dishes from all around India and the delicious scent of various spices wafted through the audience making my stomach rumble 😛

She made egg kabab (not really my kind of thing), a delicious looking chicken dish with a tomato, onion and cashew paste, a fish curry, a vegetable medley (I want to try this one out, watch this space!) and finally an Indian pudding. Made with fruit purée, so far so good, and milk curds, ewww! Sorry to anyone who likes curdled milk but that just sounds disgusting to me, needless to say I won’t be trying that particular recipe out.

All in all the show was both entertaining and educational so I’d give it a firm thumbs up. Definitely worth going to 🙂

Lunch was a semi-fail: The soft-boiled egg I cooked was a little too soft-boiled but I risked it anyway and enjoyed it with a carrot, cherry tomatoes, spring onions and half a bagel.

This afternoon I have plans to bake, tidy my room and take my singing teacher her goodbye present. I’ve been having lessons with her for 5 years now, since I was only 14(!) and I’m really going to miss both the lessons and her! She’s been an amazing teacher, really supportive as well as great fun. It feels like the end of an era…

 

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

