Fitness – Getting Started!

Hey lovely readers :-)

Today’s post is a little different from the norm. About a month ago I started writing for a lovely online blog called The Daily Quirk which is written by a great group of women, and covers all sorts of topics from films, music, and books to fashion, recipes, and now healthy living (me!). It’s a really good opportunity for me to practice writing in a slightly different style and to get my name out there as a writer.

Here is the first post I wrote for them, hope you enjoy!

We all know by now that fitness is an important aspect of our health and hardly a day goes by without new information concerning fitness being highlighted in the media. The experts aren’t lying, exercising really is key when it comes to a healthier life and on top of this it is also a pretty good tool for helping you feel a little better in your own skin. However for many people, the word “exercise” can be met with some dread. The thing is, working out should not be scary, nor should it be dull or become a huge chore. You just have to take the plunge, as nerve-wracking as that can seem, if you just get out there and start trying you’ll probably find you enjoy it!

Having been someone who danced for almost 12 years of my life, I had my exercise each week through that, and then when I stopped I had to try to figure out a way of working out regularly that I still enjoyed.

Here are a few of my tips for getting started and finding your feet:

1. Find something you enjoy doing. There is no point doing exercise you don’t enjoy doing because you won’t ever feel like working out. There are so many different fitness activities open to you and there is definitely something out there for everyone. You might prefer working out in the gym on the treadmill, jumping on your bike a few times a week, joining a sports team like a netball team, playing tennis, or you might like working out at home with some fitness DVDs. Whatever you choose, doing some exercise you enjoy a few times a week is great!

2. Get motivated. When you start exercising, have a reason in mind for why you are doing it. It definitely helps you to find the motivation to change into your workout gear if you know why you are deciding to exercise.

3. Make the time. When you have a busy week it is easy to end up making excuses for not finding the time to exercise. If you set aside time each week, maybe three or four times, to workout then you’ll know you’ve made the time for it. I find it sometimes helps to make an actual weekly workout plan.

4. Start small and build up. Something that can often set people back when they are starting to get into exercise is aiming too high and giving up quickly when they fall short. Fitness experts often recommend that you make yourself a fitness goal, or series of goals, which will give you something to work towards.

5. Reward yourself. Exercising should be fun but even when you have found a workout you enjoy doing there are sometimes days, and even weeks, when you just don’t really feel like working out. If you have given yourself a goal to aim for then it can be really great to plan a reward to give yourself if you reach your goal. Whether it is to workout weekly for a month, to lose a couple of pounds or to increase the time you can run for by five minutes, give yourself a little treat like a new piece of workout gear each time you complete a goal and you’ll definitely feel more positive!

So here are my five main tips for beginners starting to build up their exercise. Everyone has to start from somewhere and hopefully these tips have helped to show you that fitness is for everyone and it isn’t difficult to start working out!

Do you agree with my tips?
Do you have any advice for people looking to starting exercising?

24 comments

  1. I definitely agree with these points. I started cycling last summer, and gradually built up in speed and distance. I was actually ill the first time I went out because I didn’t understand what starting from the very beginning was, and pushed myself too hard – I’d not even cycled half a mile. Yikes.

    Today I did my first 30 mile round-the-Wirral cycle, and it was pretty awesome. I think the best thing about cycling is that it can be fair-weather, because who wants to cycle 10 miles in the rain? No thanks. Sometimes I still feel like that person who doesn’t do sport, because I don’t do team games or go running with someone. I find that cycling is ideal because I can go on my own and just have a little think.

    tl;dr GO CYCLING GUYS. And I’ll be sure to read your posts on the Daily Quirk, Sophie!

    1. I didn’t know you did lots of cycling, 30 miles is so impressive! I love cycling on nice days but I agree that it sucks in the rain – you get so much wetter than when you walk (I know this from turning up drenched from the cycle to uni haha).

      Thanks Danielle :-)

  2. I think these are fantastic tips. I would definitely go with doing what you enjoy, remembering that this might change over time. I’ve done loads of different kinds of exercise because I get bored easily. I’ve stuck with running for a while now, but I have to train for different distances and change my routine regularly to keep me interested.

  3. Hi Sophie, love the blog. Nice to find good UK bloggers :) I definitely agree with these tips. I also find talking to friends who exercise often helps where they inspire you to go more often, or run for longer!

    Also I find if you are deliberating if to go or not, commit to just try something for 10mins and usually you will carry on once you’ve made a start!

    1. I’m glad you found it, thank you :-)

      Yes definitely, active friends can be very inspiring! That’s a good point, I’m often like that with exercise dvds when I’m tired, I often tell myself I’ll do half of it and then end up doing the whole thing!

  4. Couldn’t agree more. I don’t really enjoy working out, but I enjoy the results. The best workouts for me are those that I don’t even consider being workouts, like skiing or surfing, it makes you forget about the goal and just have fun in the moment.

    But when it comes to working out, I try to “get it over with” early in the morning, before breakfast. :)

    1. I do like working out once I start, I just struggle to get up, get changed and get out as I’m always so tired! I agree though that it’s worth it for the results :-) Wish I could manage morning workouts like you though!

  5. This is an awesome post!

    My advice to a beginner would be: Don’t be afraid to try new things! You might not enjoy commonly practiced activities like running or swimming – so try weight lifting or biking! I really believe there is something for everyone.

  6. #1 over and over again–definitely the most important part. If you are dragging yourself to the gym/spending the day dreading that workout vid/etc., you’ll never stick with it! Have fun, try new things, and pick the one you WANT to do! Great tips overall!

Leave a Reply

