A Time to Study.

Firstly I want to say hello to any new readers who have come to check my blog out because of the lovely Bee :-) Welcome, I hope you stay a while!

Okay, so I have been majorly absent recently and I’m sorry, it seems that recently, every time I go to write a post, all I do is apologise and explain that I am ill. This isn’t how I want my blog to be and it definitely isn’t how I want to be! As I said in my last post, I always aim to be honest on my blog (if you knew me in real life you’d know I’m always incredibly honest in reality – sometimes a little too honest!) but I don’t want that to mean that I come across as wholly negative.

I am fundamentally a positive person. I have had some difficult times in my life but I refuse to dwell on them, I have been ill for a long time but I refuse to let that take over and control my life.

For those of you that don’t know, I started my first week at my new uni, having transferred into second year. I was so so nervous but things seem to be going really well and I’ve already got heaps of work so I’m obviously settling in fast. I actually quite enjoy having the work to do, I’ve got a pile of books to read, notes to make, history to research and seminars to attend. Lectures are easy, you just go in, sit, listen and try to absorb. My seminars are two hours long and although they’re a little nerve-wracking because we are in smaller groups and they are made up of group discussions. Everyone seems really friendly though and it’s nice to be in a new environment.

I have so much reading to do already, Byron’s Prelude, plenty of Dickens, Shakespeare’s Measure for Measure and Hamlet, lots of American literature and heaps more. I love to read and I feel like starting term again has rekindled my love of the classics.

Although, I’ll have to let you know how I feel once I’m half way through the term and snowed under! ;-)

Thursday’s are my days off which is great as it means I can spend most of my day curled up reading. I might bake as well, I have an urge to make cheese straws and/or cupcakes!

Then on Friday I have two seminars which should be fun, hopefully the seminar leaders will be as good as the lecturers and professors I’ve had so far. I haven’t got any plans for the weekend yet but I’m sure I’ll find something productive to do, any suggestions?

This is a little something I made for dinner the other day that I never shared with you:

 

Salmon filo parcels with an oriental salad. It was a little trickier than I thought (has anyone got any tips for making filo pastry any easier to deal with?) but it tasted absolutely delicious! I was quite pleased with myself haha, I need to cook a little more often, I don’t know why I don’t.

How is your autumn shaping up?
What have you been reading lately?
Have you cooked anything exciting this week?

12 comments

  1. Salmon filo parcels look so good…worry about them being tricky though I have worked with filo before! Not an after work venture that is for sure!

  2. Filo dough scares me! But MAN, it looks good. Smaller classes/discussions are intimidating, but those are definitely the classes I remember best/got the most out of. There’s a lot to be said for participation (beyond a participation grade ;D ).

  3. Oooof I know what you mean about long seminars. I have some this year that are over 3 hours and trying to stay awake/ not to get hungry during that stretch of time is challanging enough (if your day starts at 5:30 AM) not to mention concentrating. But I’m glad you’re enjoying it so far.

    Hope you have a great week/weekend!

  4. Good luck with all your reading. I like the look of your reading list! I am just about to enter into first year and I’m quite looking forward to doing some work again :)
    I hope you enjoy your new Uni, and particularly enjoy your Thursdays with their baking sessions! X

  5. I’m glad that you are settling in well! It’ll be Christmas in no time for you I imagine! :-) I’m currently reading ‘Life With A Star’ by Jirl Weil. It’s depressingly good and WWII fiction is one of my favourites so, I’m looking forward to seeing what awaits!

  6. I’m glad that you’re enjoying your term so far. I enjoy working as well. I had a spell at work where I didn’t have much to do and I was getting stir-crazy and a little bit down about it. I love planning and diving into something.
    Those salmon parcels look delicious – have you got a recipe because it looks like something that I would really like!

Leave a Reply

