Recent Goings On – A Sugary Update.

So I spent yesterday in bed… Yup! The fatigue is back and pretty full on this time so I’ve been feeling a little sorry for myself recently. To be honest I’ve been somewhat expecting it to happen after three weeks of work, a day trip to London etc. I woke up on Monday just feeling awful and completely without energy! ¬†I barely had the strength to drag myself up and into the bathroom to shower (around 11am!) so at least I spent the day clean but I stayed makeup less and in tracksuit bottoms all day – so presentable. I spent most of the day watching comedy shows on catch-up TV and reading, both my novel and a few blogs. I’m glad that I still have over a week of holidays left because I’m still not really feeling that great!

Now I have a little update for you all, some of you may have seen that several of the healthy-living blogger lot are taking part in the ‘Strike Sugar Movement‘ for the month of September, led by the lovely¬†Christina over at The Athletarian. It’s basically a month without any added sugar, things like fruit, honey and stevia are all allowed but there is absolutely no corn syrup, cane sugar, sucralose, fructose etc. My gorgeous friend Ali over at Running With Spatulas is joining in which I really admire!

After reading Christina’s post I was quite tempted to join in but decided not to as I really want to continue with my baking projects this month, however…

Let me show you what has been happening recently:

 

 

 

So… I’m slightly addicted to sugar! And cake… and cookies… and pastry… and ice cream… and now froyo!

It’s been becoming a bit of a problem lately, I don’t eat a lot of really junky food, I haven’t had any chips or crisps etc in ages but I do love sweet treats. I don’t feel guilty for it, if you know me at all well then you’ll know that my attitude to healthy eating is about balance – eat well most of the time but do indulge occasionally when you really fancy it. However, recently I feel like I just eat too much sugar. What with feeling rather weak and lethargic due to my fatigue issues, the addition of too much sugar just leaves me feeling extra sluggish.

Basically I have decided to do a mini cleanse this week and stay clear of sugar. I’m not even allowing myself foods like honey or juice with no added sugar, the only sweet foods I’ll be eating are fruits, milk, and whole grain bread and cereals. It probably doesn’t sound like a big deal to most but I like to have some honey, a couple of squares of dark chocolate or (often) cake each day so it’s actually pretty difficult for me!

I started this yesterday so two days down, five to go… I’ve been fine today but yesterday when I was in bed feeling poorly I really wanted some hot chocolate and a slice of cake :-P

Don’t worry, I’m not being extreme, I’ve already decided that when the week is up I am going to treat myself to the first jar of Nutella I’ve bought in months!

So there is my little update for you all, wish me luck for the rest of week ;-)

Are you a sweet tooth like me?
Have you ever cut excess sugar from your diet?

Are you joining in the Strike Sugar Movement for September?

32 comments

  1. i have a sweet tooth just like you! and working in a froyo shop and getting free froyo doesn’t exactly help ;)

    good luck with your challenge for the rest of the week!! i don’t know if i could cut out sugar (except fruit, stevia, etc) completely but i definitely have been trying to cut down on it lately.

  2. I don’t have a huge sweet tooth (unless I haven’t eaten enough ‘proper’ meals in the day). But I do allow myself a treat everyday – like a skinnycow dessert or oats with choc chips and fruit. The big turnaround for me was recognising WHY my body was craving sugar and more appropriately providing it with the foods it needed :)
    I hope you are feeling better soon!

    xo Emilie @ Hungry Delights

    1. Funnily enough I didn’t used to have a sweet tooth at all, it’s just developed over the last couple of years. I actually think it’s my body’s reaction the increased fatigue! Thank you :-)

  3. i always think about going sugar free for 30 days…but then i really think about it and i just can’t. i mean, i’m eating peach pie as i type up this post… ;) i don’t think it’s a possibility for me and my raging sweet tooth. maybe i’ll try a week like you. or just 5 days :) good luck! – i know you can do it!!
    and i hope you feel better soon!!

  4. I have a huge sweet tooth too so I think a sugar free challenge would be so hard for me! But I really like the idea behind it. I eat pretty healthy, and never have corn syrup or white sugar anymore but I’d like to cut back on evaporated cane juice and more natural but still processed sugars in food. I think I could do okay just eating stuff sweetened with maple syrup, fruit or stevia for a couple weeks though!

  5. I have a huge sweet tooth (and so does my husband) so I am all about any sweet eats. I’ve never tried to do without sugar and I don’t really think it’s even possible for me to do. Sad face.

    I’m sorry to hear that you are not feeling well though. Good luck on the rest of your week!

    ps. OMG, the pictures on this post. Now I want an almond croissant or something. Lol. ;)

  6. I know I have had issues with sugar in the past, even to the point where fruit was making me feel ‘sugared out’! That’s one of the reasons I came back to vegetarianism because a lot of vegan alternatives such as soy yoghurt contain added refined sugars. Good luck with it, it may help with your energy levels too :-)

  7. I have a terrible sweet tooth and it’s something that I’ve struggled with for a long time. A few months ago, I cut all added sugars for about two weeks. Folks said that the cravings would subside, but I didn’t really experience that.

    We’ll cheer you on, though! Even if it’s only temporary, I think that a sugar cleanse is great! At the very least, it opens your eyes to exactly how much of it you eat.

    1. I don’t think my cravings will go either but I don’t really mind, I enjoy eating sweet things, I just want some time off sugar to clear my body.

      Thank you Alex! I’m hoping it’ll help me be less attached to the stuff at least!

  8. I definitely think sugar has its time and place–like you say, balance! So I wouldn’t cut it out for a month, but I can see wanting to do a mini-cleanse if meals feel sugar-heavy as of late. So kudos to you for giving it a shot! And I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling exhausted, but it sounds like you’ve been so busy/active as of late, you deserve a few days to rest :)

  9. Those sweet things look yummy ;-)
    As you know, I’ve been trying to cut down on sugar and I do feel a lot better for it. The most disturbing thing I find about sugary things is that once I’ve had some I become a sugar monster and start grabbing for things that I don’t want and that I don’t even enjoy eating!
    Good luck with it – keep us informed about how you get on.

    1. I’m glad you feel better for it – it’s great that it’s had positive effects! I can understand that, I guess after so long without once you have a little your cravings intensify, that’s why I don’t really believe in completely cutting out any food from your diet in the long run.
      Thank you Sarah :-)

  10. I love sugar and have a big sweet tooth so I don’t see any sugar cutting for me! It’s all about knowing when to stay off it for me. Well not off it completely but having a sugar-light day if you know what I mean? I hope you feel better on the mini-cleanse!

Leave a Reply

