Celebrations – Sisterly Pride.

If you’re wondering where I was last night the answer is out celebrating. Celebrating what? My talented little sister’s fantastic GCSE results (for my non-English readers these are exams you take aged 16).

She did really really well, especially with the ridiculous situation with students being marked down. The best bit of all? In her favourite and most inspiring subject, Art, she achieved 100% overall! I clearly have an artistic genius for a sister. Can you tell I’m rather proud?

So of course when we got the great news my parents immediately suggested we go out for dinner to celebrate. My sister is a big fan of Japanese, Chinese and Thai food so she went for Wagamama, a lovely restaurant with a Japanese-inspired menu. It’s a clean, modern looking restaurant with a menu full of amazing food. It’s one of those places where I can’t help but always order the same thing, despite the huge variety on the menu. I can’t help it, I love the dish! (I will be more adventurous next time, I swear!)

I started the evening off with a glass of apple, mint, celery and lime juice. It was so refreshing and had a really interesting flavour – there was definitely a strong taste of celery but the overall taste was sweet with a lovely hit of lime.

For my main, my favourite dish: yasai chilli men. A dish of “stir-fried tofu, courgettes, red onions, peppers, mushrooms and mangetout in a spicy tomato chilli men sauce, served on whole wheat noodles”. So, so delicious!

Tom joined us for the meal, we hadn’t seen each other in over two weeks as he’s been away on holiday in Turkey. His main looked really good too, he went for the mandarin and sesame chicken salad. It was a salad of “marinated chicken with mixed leaves, mandarin, coriander, red and spring onions, mangetout and cashew nuts with a sesame, mandarin, thai basil and mint dressing. garnished with sesame seeds”.

Finally Alice’s main: raisukaree, a curry of “tender marinated chicken breast or prawns stir-fried in a coconut and lime curry sauce with mangetout, peppers, red and spring onions, fresh ginger and garlic. Served with rice and garnished with mixed sesame seeds, red chillies, coriander and lime”. She thoroughly enjoyed her dish too, the sauce smelt fantastic.

Although I was stuffed by the end of the meal I couldn’t go without dessert as Wagamama does what is possibly my favourite ice cream dish…

Coconut reika. It is made up of “three scoops of dairy coconut ice cream topped with a fresh, tangy mango sauce and toasted coconut flakes” and it’s just so so moreish. I adore coconut flavoured desserts and the mango sauce is delicious!

It was a really enjoyable way to go out and celebrate my sister’s achievement and spend some quality time together.

Do you enjoy Japanese food?
What is your favourite type of cuisine?
Any plans for the weekend?

24 comments

  1. Wow, I wish we had these kinds of restaurants around here! The food looks delicious, flavorful, and so unique. We only have American-chinese food around here where everything is fried and comes in feed-a-family-of-4 portion sizes. There would never be tofu or whole wheat noodles around here haha. Congrats for your sister though and it looks like you all had a lovely meal to celebrate! :)

    1. I can imagine that you’d really like it in there! In the States it’s more normal to take home what you didn’t eat in the restaurant isn’t it? People don’t really do that much over here but I think it’s quite a good idea!

      I love tofu, especially in Japanese and Thai dishes :-) Thanks!

      1. Yeah, it’s common for people to bring home food from their dinners. I rarely do though because it always ends up just sitting in my fridge. Depends on how good the meal really was! :P

  2. I always order the same at Wag’s as well, beef teriyaki soba & more recently for dessert the chocolate fudge cake with wasabi choc sauce ……. simply.perfect.for.me :-)
    Mega congrats to your sis xx

  3. I love Japanese food as well, but I don’t eat it half as often as I’d like to.
    I couldn’t pick a favorite type of cuisine – because I like elements of all of them. Although am partial to Spanish/Italian/French food :)

    I don’t have any real grand plans for the weekend, except that there’s a birthday party I’m attending today and sight seeing in the afternoon. Oh and a marathon of squash eating ;)

  4. Congrats to your sister, how nice you celebrated with her :) I don’t blame you for ordering that dish over and over, it looks glorious! I love Japanese but always get sushi, it’s time for me to branch out next time!

    1. Thank you Tessa! :-)

      I think you’d really like it, it’s really healthy but tastes so amazing and fresh! I haven’t had sushi in ages, there isn’t really any decent sushi available near me, I need to find some :-P

  5. That was so sweet of you to celebrate with your sister! I love love lovee japanese food and could probably eat it every day :) Along with Italian food! Sushi and Pasta are two things I love!

Leave a Reply

