What I Ate Wednesday No.42

Hello lovely readers,

I can’t believe another Wednesday has come round again! I’m shattered and sincerely ready for the weekend, I need some time off to relax and spend time unwinding. This week is more difficult than last as the people I’m working with are different and aren’t as sociable so there is not much conversation to be had. The children are older on average too and so are more demanding because they want more. I still love it but I’ll be glad when this week is over.

Of course today is time for another round of WIAW thanks to the lovely Jenn at Peas and Crayons.

Today started off feeling like summer, we had sunshine this morning. But as I discovered throughout the day from being sat outside watching children, there was a lot of wind which kept us nippy and later brought rain.

7am. I start my day fairly early compared to normal (at least normal for someone who wakes up with about 50% energy levels anyway!) and go down to the kitchen to prep my lunch and have my breakfast.

Breakfast has always been my favourite meal of the day, and it is always going to be made better by the addition of fresh raspberries. Each morning I eat my bowl of weetabix – variety is clearly not always the spice of life – with either the newspaper, the news supplements (this morning I read the arts review) or a magazine. It’s my little 15 minutes of quiet time to wake myself up each day.

8.40pm. I’m really lucky in that the place I work at is pretty close to my house so it doesn’t take me particularly long to get to work each morning. I’m certainly glad that I don’t have to drive as I’m really not a fan of driving. The morning is always fun, we play games with them as they arrive, and we make lots of nice things, the children always make my smile.

12.30pm. Lunchtime! By this point I am seriously looking forward to the end of the day. With the fatigue I experience daily, early morning is the worst time for me, for about an hour, and then mid-morning to noon is my best time for energy levels. If I don’t do much in the morning then my energy levels can still be fairly good by about 4pm but work really tires me out.

My salad was the usual box of goodness: bulgur wheat, sun-dried tomato chicken breast, cucumber, radishes and rocket. Pretty delicious in my opinion.

12.45pm. After lunch has been eaten with the children it’s off outside for some playtime. I like playtime, although we don’t get a break from the children as we have to watch them, we don’t have to be making things, helping them with their stuff, washing up, cleaning up etc. We only have to supervise them and entertain those that don’t want to play with the others. They are a funny bunch sometimes :-P

1.30pm. Back to work, the afternoon is usually spent making something for a new project, a couple of session of games and a lot of clearing up. By the time the end of the day rolls around I am shattered and definitely ready to drop down onto my bed to take a nap. When the last child has left, whilst they are lovely and bring so much joy throughout the day, I often feel like doing a little victory dance!

3.45pm. Time to go home, I practically stumble home with sore hips and sore back but a happy smile. I might sound like I’m moaning but really I love my job, it’s the best thing I can think of as summer work to get paid for. Usually when I get home, I pour myself a glass of juice (I need my sugar kick to bring back my energy levels!) and lately I’ve been having a slice of wholemeal toast with marmite. I just feel more like savoury than sweet for some rather unusual reason. I’m afraid I don’t have a photo, I was just way too hungry.

6.30pm. I couldn’t make up my mind about whether to go to the gym or not but in the end I decided against it and instead opted for a 20 minute cycle at a quick pace to get my heart rate up. It felt good to be outside and feel the wind in a good way!

7.30pm. One of the best bits of today – dinner. My mum has been away in France for the past few days visiting her grandparents and it’s always a difficult visit, equally my dad and I have been working today so we were all tired and seeking comfort. Dinner was an obvious choice:

Spaghetti bolognaise. This has been one of my favourite meals since I was a little girl and it still warms my belly and feels like a hug at the end of a difficult day. The lettuce bed might be far from the traditional Italian dish and lots of people would find it a bit off-putting but I like it as a way to squeeze in some more veg.

Anyway I’m off to bed as it’s late and I wish I could have managed to be in bed by 10pm tonight!

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten lately?
What food comforts you best after a long day?

25 comments

  1. That spaghetti looks amazing, what a perfect end to a busy day! I don’t blame you for skipping the gym and opting for exercise outside– I find that it’s always SO much more fun being in the sunshine and fresh air! :)
    Have sweet dreams and enjoy the relaxation!!

    1. It definitely is much nicer to be outside! Today is the opposite, it won’t stop raining so I don’t want to walk/cycle to the gym so I’m working out in my bedroom :-P Thank you for Alexandra, hope your new town is nice!

  2. Your food always does look lovely Sophie.. just organized and neat, love that :) The spaghetti at the end of the day is a very good choice! I would say frozen yogurt/ice cream comforts me after a long day. For a more entree food, I would go with soup!

  3. I agree with the others that your food looks lovely!

    Spaghetti bolognese is a great comfort food. I’m glad you were able to have it after a long, if rewarding, day.

  4. I’m liking the look of your lunchtime salads! It’s so delicious (and easy) to mix a load of veg with some form of grain or pasta but for some reason I never make it for myself.

    1. Thanks, I never used to but I need to take my lunch with me to work and I like it to be nice and easy and healthy so I started making these. Just a word of advice though, never forget to dress the salad like I did yesterday morning – pretty bland without dressing! haha

  5. Your exhaustive day reminds me of days during the school year! Even yesterday (after my summer class), I was completely zapped of my energy around 9:30pm and fell asleep on the couch. Amazingly, I had enough energy to eventually brush my teeth and sleep in my room…but man did I feel exhausted!

    But it looks like you fueled well :)!

  6. I don’t know how you do it! I can’t even manage an hour of watching kids, it IS just so tiring! But if you love it, totally worth it. And I always love your breakfasts, they are just so simple and clean, and seem like they’d just hit the spot perfectly!

  7. I love bolognaise! I love making a big batch of it and pasta and having tons of leftovers for the rest of the week. It’s definitely comforting and hearty. I’ll have to try the lettuce with it! Sounds like you have a really eventful day. At least your keeping busy and you enjoy your job! :)

Leave a Reply

