Guess What?

Guess what…

I joined a gym today!!

For now I’ve only signed up for a month’s membership as I don’t know what the gym at my new uni will be like but this gym is just lovely. I’m not a fan of huge, industrial-like gyms as I find them a little intimidating but this one is pretty small so suits me well. It has massive windows along one wall which overlooks the river so whilst you’re sweating away inside you can enjoy a beautiful and relaxing view. Bliss.

Another positive is that it has really nice changing rooms – good facilities, spotlessly clean, and sleek-looking. Plus they give you fluffy white towels to use.

The pool looks really inviting too so I will have to try that out sometime. There is also a jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room which I reckon would be a lovely way to unwind after a hard workout.

Anyway as you might be able to tell, I’m pretty excited to be able to use a gym again! I’m planning to try to get there 4-5 times a week, barring any particularly difficult weeks energy wise. I’m going to take it easy to start, gradually building it back up to a level which actually feels like it does something to my fitness level (and even waist line!).

Today I took it fairly easy with 10 minutes on the elliptical, followed by 15 minutes on the stationary bike, and then a 10 minute stretch and weights session. 35 minutes in total and I have to say it felt pretty good. I might try to go back tomorrow!

 

Today’s lunch: bulgur wheat, rocket, cherry tomatoes, radish, cucumber and sun-dried tomato chicken pieces. Pretty tasty and so easy to prep each evening before bed.

Right, so here’s my little update for you today, I’m sorry my posting and commenting has been so sporadic lately – I’m constantly exhausted from work and when I get home in the evening all I want to do is read, watch cooking shows and sleep! I’ll try to be a little more present for the rest of the week.

What’s your exercise routine like at the moment?
Do you go to a gym or workout at home?
How many times a week do you workout? 

17 comments

  1. Congrats on joining a gym! As someone currently suffering from a bad bout of a chronic health condition and who recently discovered your blog and read your posts about fibromyalgia, it’s inspiring to hear that you’re able to do that.

  2. Congratulations on joining a gym. I workout at home in the ‘shed’ free weights for strength, and C2 rowing machine for cardio. Usually a 1 hours session in the morning, and another at night. Weekends I usually go hiking…

      1. I find going with the flow works well, and a little time management!! I’m sure you will get there, if that is what you would like to do…Good luck !!

  3. That gym sounds so perfect for you! I love the idea of being able to work out with a view. And I bet a pool/swimming would be great exercise–low impact, but still a LOT of work! Ahh, this post makes me happy, haha, is that goofy? Have fun at the gym!

  4. That’s awesome you joined a gym! I really want to but I honestly don’t have the time or money to go. I’ve just been doing workouts at home and relying on workout videos! I usually only workout 2-3 days a week but I really want to up that to one more day or at least do tougher workouts. Glad you found something that suits you and I really hope you reach your fitness goals! :)

Leave a Reply

