What I Ate Wednesday No.41

Hey lovely readers!

I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday in the second week of August, this summer is just flying by. I find that the older I get, the quicker time seems to pass. It’s a little scary sometimes but in many ways I’m excited about the near future so I don’t mind too much. September brings many changes and I want to embrace them all!

As we are in the middle of the week it is, of course, time for another round of WIAW thanks to the lovely Jenn over at Peas and Crayons. This is going to be a fairly short post as I really need to go to bed!

This morning I had my typical breakfast as nothing satisfies me and energizes me more:

Enjoyed a rather lovely bowl of weetabix soaked in milk then topped with fresh blueberries.

Because I’m working this week I have to prep my lunches the night before so that I can just pop them in my bag in the morning and be on my way. I’ve been putting together various versions of a summery salad, using couscous, bulgur wheat or pasta as a base and then adding chopped vegetables, chicken pieces and a lemony dressing.

Today was whole wheat pasta with rocket, tomato and cucumber. Filling and fresh tasting so perfect for a midday boost to help me through the afternoon. The children are full of seemingly endless energy and somehow this seems to sap my energy away. It’s hard work keeping up a bouncy and smiley¬†countenance¬†but I enjoy my job and working with children makes me happy!

After work today I met one of my lovely friends from my old Sixth Form, the gorgeous Ellie. Although we used to get on really well back at college I feel like we’ve bonded even more since leaving for uni and I always have so much fun when we meet up. We both have a slightly guilty love of shopping (or window shopping seeing as neither of us has much money!) and we both adore going for coffee and cake.

When I got home after several hours of chatting away and wandering around town my mum had already cooked a gnocchi dish for dinner, one of my favourites.

It’s a dish containing several of my ingredients: courgette, chorizo and Parmesan :-) It’s quite indulgent feeling and so delicious.

Anyway I’m off to bed now, two more full days of work before I can rest properly. I hope you are all having a great week!

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten recently?
Do you enjoy working with children?

8 comments

  1. I am so jealous you got to eat the gnocchi dish! I want to go to your house for dinner haha!! Gnocchi, chorizo, and parmesan are my favorites! I mostly like being around children but it depends on the kid. Some can be so sweet and others can be complete trouble makers.

  2. Droool… Gnocchi is amazing when it is cooked perfectly and it looks like your mum did an awesome job :)
    To answer your question the best thing I have eaten recently would have to be the insanely indulgent anniversary dinner we had last night! It was sooo good. I should have it up on my blog very soon :)
    xo Emilie @ Hungry Delights

  3. Kids ARE exhausting, oh my gosh! Definitely not something I enjoy doing, but heck, just means I really admire people like you who do! And you always seem to find the best coffee and cakes, mmm, I’m jealous! Here it’s Starbucks or Starbucks. Which is okay, but not the same as a cafe with fresh food and drinks.

Leave a Reply

