Paris Recap Part 1 – The Flat.

So for my first Paris recap post I want to a) blab on about what a fantastic five days I had there, and b) show you how beautiful the flat was.

My mum found it through a website called Airbnb which is basically a company which allows you to find places to stay all over the world (they have places in 192 countries!)  and the idea is that you stay in someone’s house that they put on the site for holiday rental. I was having a browse earlier and there are some brilliant apartments and houses I’d love to stay in!

This might sound a little dull but it really was the most beautiful flat I think I’ve ever seen. It was just so Paris too; arty, with high ceilings, a tiny kitchen and a beautiful balcony. My family just loved it and it really added to our stay there.

The flat was really close to Montmartre and it’s a lovely area full of cute little shops, cafes and restaurants. We were on the second floor on the corner of the apartment block so we had a great view from each room and it felt extremely French (especially with all the cars honking at each other).

The lovely woman who owns the flat is an artist and her beautiful artwork was dotted all over the flat plus part of the living room is set up as her studio which I just found absolutely fascinating to have a nose around.

 The kitchen was, as I said before, really tiny but just so cute! She had clearly made the most of the space available and the walls were covered in jars of spices and grains, pots and pans, and she had really interesting bowls and plates…

Isn’t it adorable?

I wouldn’t necessarily want this sort of decor anywhere in the world but for a Paris flat it is just perfect.

Our stay in Paris was just lovely and although I’m not going to lie – it was exhausting – it was one of my favourite holidays yet!

Have you ever stayed in Paris?
Where was the nicest place you’ve ever stayed?

12 comments

  1. Love the flat! I’ve looked at that website before, and I have to say I am intrigued! I’ve been to Paris once with school when I was about twelve, so I don’ think that really counts, would love to return!

  2. I’ve been to costa rica and stayed at some pretty awesome places there! I remember this one hotel was like a giant cabin and on the inside it was so nice. It was incredible. This flat looks so cute! The building is especially beautiful!

  3. I’ve heard such good things about Airbandb, I’m tempted to go on holiday just so I can book an apartment through them! I found a stunning apartment in Dubrovnik on there but never managed to find the time and money to go away.

    I’ve only been to Paris once and wasn’t staying in the city so unfortunately I haven’t stayed in anywhere nice there. The nicest hotel I’ve been in was called Hotel Diana and was in Pompei. It was remarkably cheap for a hotel, the staff were so friendly, and while they got the room ready we got to sit outside in a gorgeous garden area and were brought freshly squeezed orange juice :)

Leave a Reply

