Currently…

Reading… 

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf. I adore this book, I’m on page 161 so I’m nearing the end and so far the writing has completely captivated my imagination. I’ve copied down a couple of quotations because it was just such beautiful writing. Woolf is definitely one of my absolute favourite authors and I have already decided that I want to read The Waves on holiday.

Listening to…

I’m struggling with this one as I’m currently writing this post from the spare laptop so I don’t have my itunes. However I was enjoying a bit of LADYHAWKE earlier, don’t know where it came from really!

Watching…

Today has been a day for packing up heaps of my stuff to move so naturally I needed a sitcom to watch, I’ve watched all of the available episodes of 2 Broke Girls so I’m now watching Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23. It’s pretty funny, not quite as good as 2 Broke Girls though…

Loving…

Being wrapped up in my duvet when it’s raining outside, drinking warm chocolatey mochas in town, the excitement of moving and decorating bedrooms, nude lipstick, the fact that I’m seeing Tom tomorrow, Green & Blacks white chocolate.

Anticipating…

Here is some of the exciting news I’ve been promising you: in just twelve days I’m going to be headed to Paris! A couple of weeks ago my mum texted me and asked if I fancied going to Paris for five nights and of course I was ecstatic. The four of us are so looking forward to the trip as it’s been years since we last visited the city. If you have any recommend for places to visit, places to eat, things to see etc I’ve love your suggestions!

What are your currently-s?
Have you got any exciting news to share?

I’m sorry I’ve been so absent from the blogworld, my laptop had to be sent in for repairs so I don’t have complete access to the internet, I am still reading your blogs as much as I can!

18 comments

  1. Have a wonderful time in Paris. I would definitely recommend the amazing Musee de l’Orangerie which houses SO MUCH Monet. The Pompidou, Louvre and Orsay are always worth a visit, although very touristy. For less arty stuff, the cemeteries (such as Montmartre and Montparnasse) are absolutely fascinating. The Jardin des Tuileries and Place des Vosges can provide fantastic people-watching opportunities, and a chance to rest tired feet. Also, near Notre Dame is Sainte-Chapelle, one of the most beautiful churches I’ve ever seen. The Jewish quarter can provide amazing food with queues down the streets for pittas generously stuffed with falafel. I could go on all day…and I claim not to like Paris! Also, the guardian published some fantastic sounding outdoors stuff happening in Paris over the summer: http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2012/jun/11/paris-outdoors-parks-summer-pools?INTCMP=SRCH
    Looking forward to reading all about your trip!

    1. Thank you for writing such an interesting and informative comment! The Louvre is at the top of my list and I’d also love to visit the Pompidou. I’d like to go for a picnic in the Jardin des Tuileries as I’ve heard it’s lovely. The cemetery at Montmartre is such a good suggestion, I hadn’t thought of that – thanks! Sainte-Chapelle has also been added to the list :-) Out of interest, do you have any recommendations for good markets?

  2. So exited for you because I LOVE France! I’ve only been to Southern France, but it was truly the experience of a lifetime.
    Never been to paris so I won’t be very helpful with suggestions, but I hope you have a great time :)

  3. YUM I didn’t know Green & Blacks made a white chocolate bar! I’ll have to be on the lookout for that one. That is so awesome you’re going to Paris! I can’t wait to read all about your trip on your blog!

    1. Well I have to admit I haven’t read all of them (although I am determined to do so!) but I just love the way she really paints her descriptions of scenes and intricate details, and I think that the character development is amazing. Plus I love the way she leaves things open to the interpretation of each individual reader – she didn’t like people forcing symbolism on her writing and just wanted everyone to read it however they felt!

      Thank you :-)

  4. Oh Oh Oh, I hope you have a wonderful time in Paris! I have never been in Spring/early Summer but I suspect it’s the best time to go!

    There are so many places to visit as you well know I’m sure! I lived there for nearly five months and didn’t even get half the city done! :-) See what takes your fancy is my tip for Paris! Although if you haven’t been to the Cluny Museum (Musée du Moyen Age) and you like old tapestries and medieval history, I’d definitely recommend that! If the weather is good and you’re on the Left Bank, a trip over to the Jardin du Luxembourg is a must too – it’s less touristy than the Tuileries! Tour Montparnasse gives excellent views of the city too! So many things. :-)

    As for the currentlys…I’m reading ‘Gorky Park’ and enjoying it. Turns out Soviet history lessons come in handy! ;-)

    I’ve only read ‘A Room Of One’s Own’ but I enjoyed that and am eager to read more Woolf after I’ve cleared out my huge post-uni TBR list!

Leave a Reply

