What I Ate Wednesday No.35

I can’t believe that I’m on my 35th WIAW, in fact, I can’t believe that it has almost been a year since I first started blogging.

Time certainly flies.

So as usual, you must know the drill by now, it is once again time to link up for What I Ate Wedneday thanks to the gorgeous Jenn of Peas and Crayons!

This month’s WIAW has a theme: sensible snacking. This is something I struggled with during the years of fighting negativity towards food, I either didn’t want to touch food in between meals and savoured the feeling of physical hunger in my stomach, or I caved in and ate more than I was comfortable which lead to guilt.

Needless to sat, it was not a pleasant cycle to be stuck in.

However, with the progress I have been making in leaps and bounds in recent months, snacking has become much simpler. I love to eat, we all know that, and now if I feel hungry between meals then I do just that.

When I woke up this morning the sunshine was streaming in through the open window (I have overhead windows that I leave slightly open at night to stay cool) which just made me smile. It’s amazing how much nice weather can lift your spirits. The sky was blue with a dusting of soft clouds gently drifting by.

As it was still reasonably early I stayed in bed and read for half an hour, I’m currently reading To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf and I absolutely love it, it’s beautifully written and captivates the imagination. She is fast becoming my favourite writer…

Breakfast this morning was delicious:

Weetabix soaked in milk, and then topped with frozen raspberries and fresh blueberries, plus a sprinkling of ground flaxseed and almonds.

I spent the next half hour organising my things, sending and replying to emails and sorting out my plans for next week. After posting my weekly workout schedule on Monday I actually ended up switching a few things round, yesterday I actually cycled over 4 miles and walked around a lot so I was too sore to do the 30 Day Shred. No problem there, I decided to do it this morning!

Jillian certainly worked me hard this morning! After about a month without doing this dvd I definitely felt that familiar ache, it feels so good to be fighting to be active again though. I really want to keep up this exercise momentum…

Post-workout I filled my hungry stomach with this bowl of tastiness:

Sometimes it is the simple food that satisfies us the most, this was just a bowl of natural yogurt and sliced banana but somehow it tasted brilliant. I think I was just hungry after working out and showering…

After eating, my mum and I decided the weather was just right to go elderflower picking. Every summer for the last few years my mum has made a delicious cordial with fresh elderflowers picked from the borders of meadows near our house.

The smell of elderflower is filling our kitchen right now and is just heavenly, can’t wait to try the beautifully bottled cordial, it’s perfect for the summer months.

I met up with one of my favourite people for lunch today, one of the closest friends I made in Sixth Form, the lovely Baiba. She appreciates good food and always has heaps to talk about so she makes rather excellent lunch company!

We shared two plates of food as that means you get to try two dishes:

On the left is a potato and onion pie with salad and balsamic dressing, on the right is avocado salsa and artisanal breads. Pretty delish!

Which we both washed down with a really tasty drink of pear and elderflower. As you can see I’m on a bit of an elderflower kick at the moment.

After lunch we did a spot of window shopping – the end of the spring term invariably means that us students are all currently a bit low on cash…

Not too low for coffee though ;-)

I had an iced caramel latte, it’s half gone here as I almost forget to take a photo before remembering I was sharing my snacks!

This evening, whilst dinner was cooking, I dipped into a bag of pistachio nuts which for some reason remind me of being on holiday in France. I find breaking open the shells strangely satisfying.

Dinner itself was lemon chicken with pesto coated new potatoes and green salad.

Doesn’t it look amazing? I’ve really been loving the gorgeous, fresh, summer-y meals we’ve been having as of late, my body is feeling the benefits too. My skin is looking great and I have more energy than usual, it’s brilliant.

In other news my wonderful boyfriend, Tom, got his finals results today and did really really well! I’m so proud and happy for him, I just had to mention it :-)

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten recently?
Have you ever made your own cordial?

What’s making you feel positive at the moment? 

30 comments

  1. Love pistachios – they’re my favorite type of nut – haven’t had them in a while though.

    And banana’s a yogurt are a killer combo – just saying.

    Hope you keep enjoying the summer!

  2. i love everything about this post of yours :)

    i’ve never had elderflower before but it sounds lovely. and i’m kind of really curious about the smell now… and how you make the elderflower cordial! i’ve never made my own cordial before, but now i really want to…

    isn’t summer time just the best?? keep having fun! :)

    1. Thank you Kris! :-) You should definitely try some, I think it’s a lovely, delicate taste and sent. Summer time is fantastic, so glad to be free! Thanks lovely, hope you’re having a great summer too!

    1. Thank you Christina :-) The flowers grow on elderflower trees (latin name: Sambucus) and are used to make cordial, the berries are also used for wines and things like that. I love the flavour, you can get some lovely elderflower cocktails!

  3. Wow, I’ve never had anything elderflower before. but now I’m intrigued. And I saw Weetabix at the grocery store the other day and thought of you–almost bought it to try it, but I was on a (limited cash) mission for peanut butter. Will have to go back and snag it soon, though.

  4. Yay for Tom! Is he graduating this year??

    I love pistachios too! They are something I rarely but but always really enjoy when I do! :-)

    Lovely eats all round by the looks if it! ;-)

  5. This all looks too delicious…you have excellent taste in food and I love your happy approach to eating and being healthy. One of the healthiest foodie/lifestyle blogs out there! and about that pie…post me a slice?

    1. Okay this is going to sound a bit gushy but I was so excited to get your comment – I’ve been reading your blog for a while and I adore it, your photos are just gorgeous! This is the first time I’ve had a comment from a blogger that I love so I was really touched :-)

      Thank you for your kind words, it’s taken me a long time to get to a happy place food-wise but I feel so positive about it all now!

      1. Aw, thank you, that’s really nice to hear, I’m so glad you like my blog. Your photos are wonderful too…I think we appreciate similar things in life- the simple and lovely!

  6. I love pistachios, too! When I was a kid I would just suck on the salty shell and then spit it out…I didn’t actually eat the nut lol. What a little weirdo. Happy I came across your blog :)

  7. The picture of the sky looks like a painting- so pretty! All that food looks delicious, as always (I just think we have the same taste in food haha). But seriously pesto potatos, lemon chicken (which I ate tonight for dinner), avocado salsa- all sound soo good.

  8. I think the best thing I’ve eaten recently was ice cream for dinner today because it’s been 95 degrees all day!

Leave a Reply

