What I Ate Wednesday No.34 – Rather Delicious.

Yep, you guessed it! It’s time for another round of WIAW…

As always a massive thank you to the lovely Jenn for creating this link-up! If you’re new to this, go check out her blog to see what it’s all about :-)

Rather than share a typical day of food with you, I want to show you some photos of the rather fantastic food that I’ve been eating with Tom this week. You are definitely in for an absolute treat!

Breakfast here is my usual staple, bowl upon bowl of weetabix… I thought you wouldn’t be interested so I’ll go straight to lunch:

A rather tasty tomato chicken pasta salad bought from Boots (along with a couple of lipsticks I just couldn’t resist!)

Along with pretty nice lunches I’ve also been enjoying several cups of this stuff:

Caramel lattes are the best way to warm up when the rain is falling heavily outside. As you may have guessed, Tom and I have spent many hours sat by cafe windows watching the world (and the rain) go by.

However, the real treat I’ve been eating this week has definitely been dinner. On Monday night a group of Tom’s friends decided to go watch the football in a pub and then take a trip to the cinema to watch Men In Black 3. We thought the time in between would be a perfect opportunity to grab some dinner ;-)

Scampi and chips from a local fish n’ chip restaurant. The scampi was lovely and fresh and the portion was perfect – I ate the entire plate. Well we wouldn’t want it going to waste would we? ;-)

I was a little apathetic about the film beforehand but it actually turned out to be pretty funny, I enjoyed it and it was fun to go out with Tom’s friends.

Now, I have definitely saved the best till last!

Last night Tom booked us a table at a really lovely restaurant and we dressed up for our three course meal together, to celebrate the end of exams and the start of our summer together. It was easily the best meal I’ve eaten in ages. Tom wore his gorgeous new blazer from Zara and I wore my favourite maxi from FCUK, I think we make a pretty smart couple…

To start with I went for a dish of spicy aubergine crostini which was fantastic.

Tom decided to have an avocado and prawn starter which looked really good too, it would have been my second choice!

For the main course the choice was clear and we both went for the same thing. A dish of fresh trout served with gorgeous greens and a special potato mash. It was just wonderful, the butter sauce was absolutely delicious!

Finally, what could better complete a beautiful dinner than an amazing chocolate pavlova (mine) and the perfect crème brûlée (Tom’s)…

It was such a brilliant evening, we strolled back home around 10pm when it was still light and settled down with full and happy stomachs. I only have a couple of days left here with Tom before I head back home for a week. I have been having the most amazing time and I am so lucky to have Tom, he makes me feel like one very lucky girl!

I hope you are all having a lovely week and that it has been raining less where you are than here!

What is the best thing you’ve eaten this week?
Have you eaten out recently?

35 comments

  1. That creme brulee!! Man everything in this WIAW is so unbelievably tasty looking! :) I’m so glad you and Tom had such a wonderful time together, you guys are so cute!

  2. what a lovely picture of you and Tom :) I am so so glad you two are back together in the same space again! The creme brulee looks simply perfect, as does the latte.. so delicate? I don’t know that word just seems to work to describe it!

  3. You had me drooling by the end of this post! So much delicious looking food. You look absolutely gorgeous in that photo with Tom. Glad you’re having a great time! :)

      1. Exactly! Cept that would definitely involve me spending a ridiculous amount of money on coffee – and I spend enough already..

  4. Aww, you two look so cute together. And of course all the food (espcially the chocolate pavlova) looks amazing. So glad you’re enjoying your summer :)

Leave a Reply

