Time Off.

I simply cannot explain how amazing it feels to have finished with this year and to enjoy a few days of relaxing with zero responsibilities. Seriously, I feel as though a huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders and I can finally fall asleep at night without feeling anxious about everything I have to do.

So on Friday morning I jumped on the train for the 4 hour journey up to stay with Tom. I was impatient practically the entire time but luckily had the seemingly endless story that is Vanity Fair. I’m still only about 60% of the way there!

Getting to Tom’s and finally being able to collapse into his arms (almost literally!) was so needed and we’ve spent the last few days just really enjoying each other’s company.

Saturday involved a trip into town where I bought myself a couple of beauty products I needed (and wanted) and we spent time catching up in a cafe by the river. The drink I had is one of my favourites, on the sugary side and pretty unhealthy but just so delicious. I can’t get it anywhere else so when I spend time here I always get it.

Raspberry mocha frappe. It really is delicious.

I also decided to go for an almond and raspberry slice which is something I adore. If there’s a treat I can almost never say no to it’s a slice of cake or tray bake ;-)

Today was equally lovely, we took a trip to the cinema to watch The Avengers. I’ve already seen it but Tom hadn’t been able to and it’s definitely his type of film so I was perfectly happy to see it again. It was just as funny the second time around! I have to say I love Iron Man’s character, he has some brilliant one-liners.

Other than that we stayed in and played some computer games, I think we both needed some mind-numbing entertainment. Our choices of computer games are rather different, I like to design houses on the Sims, Tom likes a bit more action :-P I’d forgotten quite how much fun the Sims could be, it definitely reminds me of being about 12 years old!

Dinner was really tasty this evening, spicy chicken fajitas with salad.

It’s just so nice to spend time at Tom’s, as he remarked yesterday, it’s sort of like living on your own but better. We don’t get in each other’s way, both of us still do our own things, but you have the lovely company.

I hope you have all had a fantastic weekend!

What have you been up to this weekend?
If you’re in Britain have you been doing anything for the Jubilee?
I love the bunting everywhere!
Do you prefer living on your own, with family, with your other half, or with friends?

11 comments

  1. Raspberry almond slice looks delicious! I love any berry combo with almonds. The fajitas look delicious as well. I’m glad you finally get to spend time with Tom! Half the time I’m with my boyfriend we’re both on our computers doing are own thing, too. Like right now as I type this haha. It’s about the company and presence though! :)

  2. I want the bunting to stay forever…. :-) I love it.

    I hope you have a great time relaxing with Tom.

    I’ve never lived 100% on my own but I like my own company and space so as much as I like having housemates, I think living on my tote would be my favourite. I may be totally wrong and I think it’ll be a long while before I get to try it out! :-)

Leave a Reply

