This Weekend #7.

This weekend has mostly involved a mixture of this:

I’ve not been feeling fantastic so in between working and eating I’ve been snuggled up in bed reading. I don’t really know what’s wrong with me, I figure it’s mostly the stress but whatever is causing it, can my headaches and feelings of nausea vanish now please? The flapjack pictured above is a Bakewell tart flapjack and is the ultimate treat for a poorly head!

I did venture out of my room at some point this weekend, today I went to do some laundry (I clearly have a very exciting life) and yesterday I took some time off to meet a friend at the cafe. It was good to get out of the block that makes up my rather small world right now. I don’t know about where you are but here it’s actually been quite pleasant outside, the sun shines into my room every morning and it’s not too chilly which makes a change.

We actually sat outside for a couple of hours and I had the most delicious fruit muffin. I love bottle green sparkling elderflower, it’s just lightly sparkling and has a lovely subtle elderflower flavour. I’d say this drink and muffin were the highlight of my weekend.

This week I have my first exam (ahh!) so I’ve been preparing lots for that. It’s starts on Wednesday when I go to watch a clip of a theatre production which will be one of the nine plays we’ve studied in Drama this year, then I come back and I have till 10am Friday morning to write 2500 words… Not exactly my idea of fun. I will definitely be feeling less stress this time next week, even if I still have three more exams after that. This is the one I’m most stressed about. It’s hardly ideal for someone like me who really struggles to sit at a desk for more than a couple of hours at a time!

I may go home next Sunday, I’m homesick and I want my real bedroom back. I haven’t decided yet because it would be tough to carry all of the books and notes needed for my revision. We shall see…

Just as a warning I may be rather absent for the next couple of weeks and when I’m around I might be a tad grumpy. I loathe exams probably somewhat more than the average person as for me they are two hours of hell in which I feel shattered, am in gradually mounting amounts of pain and obviously, like everyone else, feel incredibly stressed. I’ll get there though, bring on the summer!

What have you been upto this weekend?
Any exams left/work deadlines?
What has been taking up all of your time lately?


17 comments

  1. :-( sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling great. I guess stress before exams doesn’t help. I can definitely sympathise; all eleven of my finals will be over in three weeks but I still don’t even want them to start! I’m not prepared at all. Plus glandular fever fatigue has decided now is a good time to kick back in! Sucks. I hope you feel better and everything goes alright this week! Good luck! x

  2. Hi sweetie. Sending you a huge hug right now. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been having a rough time. I hated exams too…..I can’t imagine how exhausted you must be feeling. I know you’ll do great though…and this time next week things’ll be a little better :-) I LOVE that sparkling elderflower drink too. I always order it when I go to our local veggie restaurant. Keep giving yourself regular little treats at regular intervals – a walk, some girly TV, a cuppa or another Bakewell tart :-) Sending you lots of love and luck in your exam xx

  3. Poo about feeling bad, but yay for reading, relaxing and having amazing food! I drooled like a madwoman over that flapjack tart picture, man does that look good!
    Wishing you the BEST of luck with your exams and hope you feel better soon! :)

  4. Aww Sophie I am sorry you have been feeling less than stellar :( I hope that the reading, relaxing and consumption of great food is helping you out though! Maybe when exams, studying, and stress from that goes away you will start to feel better… I am praying for you of course!
    Good luck with everything love!

  5. Feel better soon Sophie! Best of luck with all your exams, I’ll be in that position very soon and not looking forward to it :( Hope everything goes alright, take care!

  6. Why do those baked goods look SO good? I want one! And sounds like just the ticket to make it through exams. I’m sorry you aren’t feeling great, but just imagine how amazing it will be once you’re done! Wishing you the best of luck with finishing it all up!

  7. Good luck on your exams! Just try not to be so hard on yourself and stress so much and you’ll get through it in no time. Sounds like beautiful weather! Oh and those bars up there look delicious!

Leave a Reply

