Hospital Trips + A Lot of Work!

Hey guys :-)

I hope you’re all having a great week!

After three days of traveling back and forth and a full day of lectures I’m feeling pretty exhausted. It makes me dread exams but I’m trying not to think like that! Whilst on the subject of exams, I have a 16.30 exam, it’s 1 hour 30 minutes long and then I have 25% extra time and a 10 minute rest break… This means I won’t finish till about 18.30pm. By far the latest exam I’ve ever sat and I’m really worried that I’ll be shattered by that point and struggling to make it through. Any advice on how not to let the fatigue get the best of me?

This morning was up at the early-ish time of 7.30am and I started straight with breakfast:

Good ol’ weetabix mush with skim milk and frozen raspberries.

Then it was on to my last Old English lecture and seminar, one after the other. They covered the exam topics but instead of reassuring me, that sort of session always makes me panic. I have a LOT to revise!

I didn’t get a picture of lunch as I was busy working but I had lots to get through and another lecture (this time Language) at 3pm. I did however, manage to get a photo of dinner and for once it was still light when I took the photo!

Wholemeal pasta with pan-fried courgette and garlic, an old favourite and still just as tasty. I have to say, I’m pretty sure courgette is my favourite vegetable, although that’s no surprise.

Anyway, I told you I’d write about my hospital trip so here’s a little insight.

I had an appointment with my pain consultant and he’s probably the best and most understanding doctor I’ve seen. I’ve only had one appointment with him previously yet he clearly remembered me, and had read my file from cover to cover (and I can tell you it isn’t short!). He also took the time to listen to me and asked intelligent, significant questions so I didn’t feel like I was wasting my time.

Obviously, they still can’t tell me what is wrong with me, when I’ll get better, or indeed, if I’ll get better. However, we are at a point where we can take a step forwards rather than backwards. We’ve made two decisions, firstly I am going to see the clinic’s physio once I transfer to see if we can strengthen my weaker areas and stretch me out a bit. Secondly, I’m also going to have a meeting with the clinic’s resident psychologist for some CBT to help me with pain management. I am not sure whether either will be a huge help, I try not to get my hopes up too much anymore because there has been very little progress in the last few years, however I’m open to trying almost anything :-) As long as it’s not harmful in any way, I figure I have nothing to lose!

How’s your week been?
Any late afternoon exam tips?
Do you have a favourite vegetable?


20 comments

  1. That doctor sounds amazing! And it sounds like your two gameplans are great, I wish you the best of luck on getting back to a normal, pain free life! :)
    And huge good luck with all of the assignments/exams, you can do it!!!

  2. I’m glad your doctor is working with you!! I really hope you guys make some progress! I like almost all vegetables (except kale and brussel sprouts) but my favorites are fresh organic vegetables. I’ve been trying to grow a little garden and had my first homegrown tomato today. It was a million times better than store bought, so sweet and fresh. Good luck on your exams! I would just eat right before to give myself energy, if I was in your position.

  3. I love doctors that actually listen and take you seriously :) Wish there were more of them around!
    I had an exam at 18.30 once… three hours long too! The only suggestion I can think of is to sleep in in the morning if you can (or take a nap?) so you can be a little less tired at night.
    Good luck with your exams :)

    1. Yes me too, completely agree with you there! Oh gosh that sounds awful! I think a nap might be a good idea actually, a few hours before so that I don’t still feel tired. Thank you :-)

  4. I had a really good doctor appointment myself today, so I can really relate to/ appreciate the feeling of being listenened to and understood.

    I love courgettes!! They’re one of my favorite spring/summer veggies. That and cherry tomatoes in a salad are my dream come true.

  5. It’s great to hear that you had a good appointment! I find it so reassuring when you find a good doctor! It does wonders to calm you I think which can help in itself! I hope the fatigue calms a bit, not just so that you can get through the exams but just so that you get a break! You so deserve some relief!

    That’s a tough exam time! How strange? Our last exam session starts at 14:15 (like school exams!) and then finishes whenever you finish! I have a few nasty 3 hour exams which I find problematic in terms of food! I’m hoping there is some allowance for snacks at the exam desk (obviously quiet ones!) I guess, at very last resort, you could try a coffee or something? Sleep as late as possible in the morning (although I find this then messes up my evening/next morning pattern!) I’m not being terribly helpful so I’ll just wish you happy revision! :-)

    1. Thanks Jessica :-) It was definitely quite reassuring. Yes me too, I can’t wait for this all to be done! Oh lucky you :-P To be fair my other three are all early afternoon so I can’t complain too much. I might ask if I can take a snack, that would be really good, thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

