May Goals.

Well as today is the 1st of May, I figured it was probably time I set myself some goals.

I didn’t make any in April because it was a month off from schedules in an attempt to rest a bit after a difficult term. But, as this month is exam month, I think it would be a good idea to give myself something to aim for (other than doing well in my exams of course!).

I’m feeling quite positive about everything, despite not having yet finished my essays. I just used to really enjoy having a schedule of work etc and in a way, the idea of revising is actually quite relaxing after the stress of having about 10,000 words to write. Having said that, I’m sure I’ll be singing a different tune in a couple of weeks :-P

Anyway, I’m not going to go overboard, I just want these to be simple, achievable goals that will help me stay focused, don’t get in the way of revision and make me feel positive.

(You can check out my March goals here)

May Goals.

Drink 2 – 3 litres of water a day. I often find that when I’m sat at my desk working for several hours at a time I forget to drink much and then by the end of the day feel dehydrated and sluggish. I know that previously in exam periods, keeping a full bottle of water at my desk and drinking throughout the day has made me feel much better so I want to keep at it this month.

Do something physical everyday. I’ve struggled to be active throughout April, I think in all honesty my body just needed a rest, but this month I really want to get back into exercising a little more. Although if I push too hard it tends to have a negative impact, I know that regular, smallish workouts really help with my energy levels and they make me feel better about myself. This May I’m going to be joining Ali on her Muscular Legs May and trying to get to the gym more often!

Read before bed. When I was younger I would always go to bed and read for half an hour before lights-out-time. I think this is a habit I should get into again and it works perfectly for exam period as it’s a time to unwind and means I’ll have time to read for pleasure.

Look after my appearance. Somebody (really sorry I can’t remember who!) suggested that I pamper myself a bit more as a way to make myself feel a bit more positive and I think they were right! Lately I’ve bought a couple of new beauty products and I can’t wait to try them out. This is also quite helpful for me when it comes to being productive, it might sound a little silly but if I get up in the morning and get ready as though I have plans that day then I tend to work better – this realisation comes after one of Jemma’s posts.

So there you have my goals for the month. Obviously the main goal is to get through this exam period without having any serious issues but it’ll be nice to have a few other positive things to focus on. You all know how much I like lists ;-)

I had a hospital appointment this afternoon and it actually went pretty well for once which made a nice change, I’ll tell you about it properly tomorrow!

Have you made any goals this month?
Do you find it useful to give yourself an aim to focus on?

Any tips for being productive and not stressing too much through exams? 

25 comments

  1. love all these goals! i especially like the one about reading before bed. i really should do that too. too many times before bed i spend time on the computer. but then that leads me tossing and turning. reading, on the other hand, puts me right to sleep!

  2. Great goals girl! I am trying to up my water intake as well! So hard sometimes! ha I’m joining the lovely Ali as well!! She is so cute and I just love these month challenges!

  3. Fabulous goals! I’m with Haley, the one about reading before bed sounds lovely :-) I can’t wait to read more for fun over summer!

  4. I really like the idea of taking time to pamper yourself… it makes such a difference in how you feel and present yourself :) OH and I am so with you on drinking more water, I am the worst with that!

  5. Im at work right now via phone but I wanted to say that I live your goals! I just drank half a litre of water whilst reading ;) thanks for the shout out and I hope you smoke your exam :)

    Ps. Reading before bed is genius

  6. These are great goals for May! I always do my devotions before going bed, and usually in the summer I do my devotions AND read before going to bed! I love the idea of spending more time to pamper yourself, I think I may join you with that goal!

  7. I always read before going to bed, even if it’s a super late night and I’m not home until 3am (okay, so this happens MAYBE three times a year–I’m not a late-night fan). Anyway, it really is relaxing, calming, and gets the brain ready for sleep. So awesome goal, I look forward to hearing how that goes. And getting up and getting ready even if there isn’t a specific reason–yeah, way more productive day. Weekends where I wear pajamas until noon? I get nothing done (not that there’s anything wrong with that on occassion). Weekends where I get up and get dressed? I get all sorts of random errands, chores and more done that I’d been putting off for ages. Good luck with your goals, they are excellent!

    1. I envy you, I’m determined to get back into that habit! It really is incredibly relaxing isn’t it :-) Haha I’m the same with the pajamas thing, I love doing it from time to time but right now I just can’t! Thank you Allie!

  8. I love the goals! I especially like the reading one (I may join you!) and the pampering! I have a huge TBR list once exams are over!

  9. Longtime lurker, first time commenter here! I just wanted to say that I love the idea of short term goal setting – I really need to start setting goals more often. I especially love your goal about reading before bed. I haven’t (voluntarily) read a book in over a year so I’d love to get back to that! Have a great day! :-D

    1. Well it’s lovely to have a comment :-) I really like reading your blog too! Gosh that’s a long time, I’ve got a ton of great books to recommend if you need any ideas :-)

  10. My goal is to get my first job! I’ve been filling out applications every day this week so I’m hoping I’ll get at least one call back! I think feeling more confident in the way you look is definitely beneficial because you just feel better all around and more productive. My mom used to read to me every night before bed all through elementary school. I really miss it! Oh and I’m glad your hospital appt. went well :)

Leave a Reply

