For the Last Time.

Today was the last time I go through the whole ‘last-day-home-before-heading-back-to-uni’ thing.

It feels a little odd to be honest. Although I feel a bit sad to leave, I’m going to miss my family and the comfort of home, at the same time I have this overwhelming need to embrace living independently again as it’s the last opportunity I’ll have for a while.

A mixed bundle of emotions really.

After working almost constantly for the past week I decided that my last day could be more relaxing so all I’ve done work-wise is some reading and a touch of research. I’ve left my favourite essay till last and the reading I’m doing for it is fascinating so it’s not stressing me out too much.

Helps that today has been lovely (despite the lack of sun and the presence of heavy showers).

Freshly toasted English muffins with a dollop of butter, melting deliciously into the dough. One of my favourite rainy day eats. Perfect for being curled up on the sofa with the family.

Summer veg stir-fry with egg-fried rice. Seems a bit like wishful thinking in this weather but it’s really delicious. Hats off to Mr Fearnley-Whittingstall.

What better way to finish than┬áBen & Jerry’s Caramel Chew Chew and Haagen Dazs Pralines and Cream? (The answer is – there is none!)

I say today was my last day but I’m actually back┬áMonday afternoon to Tuesday evening because I have an important hospital appointment in the afternoon on Tuesday. Irritating it may be but it’s too important to miss and unfortunately couldn’t be rescheduled.

What would be your ideal dessert right now?
How’s everyone’s weekend been?
Any plans for the week?

16 comments

  1. i totally know what you mean about the bundle of mixed emotions. for the past few days, i have been like, “it’s my last friday here.” or, “it’s the last time i will drive down this road.” it’s super bitter sweet!

  2. All of this food looks absolutely divine! You take gorgeous pictures, too. My ideal dessert would be a big slab of rich chocolate cake right about now haha. Definitely make the best of your time of independence and I hope your hospital appt. goes well!

  3. My favorite dessert is anything involving both chocolate and ice cream – yum!

    Hope your appointment goes well :)

  4. Mmmm those muffins look delightful!

    I think I’m in the mood for some sort of pie – apple, blueberry, cherry? Something warm, fruity and topped with custard! It feel like we are in the depths of Autumn at the moment not Spring!!!

    Hope your appointment goes well! :-)

  5. Understandable feelings here Sophie… but I believe the happy feelings will trump over the others :) Ideal dessert right now? Hmmm… I would say kind kind of berry crumble that is warm, i am a bit chilly at the moment and it would hit the spot!

Leave a Reply

