This Weekend #6.

Hello there lovely readers!

Well here I am, trying my hardest to ‘keep my chin up’ as Tom would say :-P

It’s been a tough day, knowing that he’s gone back to uni and that I won’t be seeing him again for several weeks. Tom isn’t just a boyfriend to me, he’s my best friend, so I really do feel like a chunk of my life is missing when we’re apart for extended periods of time. But this can just be viewed as an opportunity for Skype dates which make the perfect break from revision so there can always be a silver lining!

Today I threw myself into my work in order to distract myself and I’m pretty pleased with what I’ve managed to get done.

I think it’s down to the foul weather outside…

It’s hard to tell in this photo but if you look at the gutter you can see evidence of the heavy rain and even hail that we’ve been experiencing pretty much constantly today.

It’s also thanks to the hearty food that I’ve enjoyed today:

Jamie Oliver’s chicken and mushroom pie served with peas and wilted lettuce (the latter might sound a little odd but it’s actually delicious). I’m not actually much of a fan of chicken pie usually but today it was just what I needed. Perfect fuel for a hard day’s work.

I have only got one more week at home and then it’s back to uni again for the final push. I’ll be back there on Monday 30th and will be done with my first year (!!) in a month’s time, with my last exam on the 31st April. Not long to go, can’t wait to be done with this year. I have to say, I still have two essays to write and four exams to get through which is stressing me out somewhat but I’ll get there.

Anyway, it’s definitely time for me to get to bed so I’ll say goodnight for now!

What’s your favourite comfort food?
Any exams or deadlines coming up for you?
How do you deal with exam (or any other kind of) stress?

16 comments

  1. I love looking at the photos you post of food, it always looks so tasty!
    I think my comfort food would probably have to be pasta with pesto or macaroni cheese.
    Deadlines are looming here as well. 11th, 14th and 16th May, but I’m aiming to submit everything by 11th because my mother and sister are coming to visit for the weekend and I’m hoping to head back with them. Not long to go and as much as I’m looking forward to being home I’m not sure I want to go just yet.
    Thankfully my course has no exams, but coursework can get stressful when computers have meltdowns as they have been having recently. Normally I’ll write or read, but going for a walk is always nice.
    Good luck for your exams :)

    1. Thank you! Ooh pasta with pesto is definitely one of my favourite comfort foods too, so delicious. Those deadlines sound quite stressful but at least it’s not long till you’re all finished! And lucky you for not having any exams, I’m quite jealous of that! Thank you Hannah :-)

  2. Sorry to hear about the lame weather, but wow does that dish look amazing! I love having warm comfort food on drizzly days :)
    Best of luck on your exams!!

  3. I absolutely adore chicken pie! It used to be my favorite meal as a child and my step-mom would make it once a week for me so it brings back some great memories. I’m still searching through her recipe box trying to find the old recipe she used to make. Definitely comfort food. That’s exciting your close to finishing up your year! I’m graduating in 3 weeks so I’m pretty excited about that! Good luck with your exams!

  4. My favorite comfort food is beans and cornbread or a warm bowl of oats or a mug of hot chocolate – I feel warm and fuzzy just thinking about it.

    I’ve still got a way to graduation, but I can definitely feel your exitment. I’m sure you’ll do wonderfully.
    Take care!

  5. Your food always looks so delicious but your portion sizes look worryingly tiny!! I thought you promoted healthiness?! xx

    1. Whilst I appreciate your concerns, that photo shows my portion which was 1/6 of the pie, roughly 500 calories so hardly tiny! Anyway, healthiness is about what works for you, at this point in time I lead an incredibly sedentary lifestyle so I require much less energy and therefore fewer calories than someone who runs everyday for example. I still eat four times a day and never really feel hunger so I don’t feel that I under-eat. Hope this helps with your worries.

  6. That does look like some good comfort food! I think tomato soup and grilled (soy) cheese is my favorite cold/rainy weather food, but I wouldn’t say no to a good pot pie. And isn’t technology great? How did anyone do long distance relationships or even friendships before cell phones and Internet??

    1. Mmm tomato soup is lovely when it’s wet outside! Oh I know, I don’t know how I’d manage with Tom if I didn’t have a phone. I personally love writing letters but the problem is much more the time it would take to have contact!

Leave a Reply

