What I Ate Wednesday No.30

Hey there!

Well today is Wednesday so that means one thing and one thing only:

It’s time for some weekly eats courtesy of the lovely Jenn over at Peas and Crayons! If you have no idea what I’m on about a) where have you been all this time? and b) head on over to this week’s WIAW to find out how it all works :-)

I have to say, I’m probably not doing too well on the whole “serve up an extra cup of veggies” thing… But it’s okay because I’m going to share with you two of the most delicious meals, both eaten out in town. I know, two meals out in two days… Get me and my energy!

In all honesty, I have almost no energy and spent the majority of the past two days on my bed but I’m just pleased that I’ve managed to leave the house each day. Small steps here people :-P

Before I share these two culinary marvels (I may be exaggerating just the tiniest bit there) I want to show you a photo of breakfast:

This is what I have eaten for breakfast pretty much everyday since getting back home. I just adore fresh blueberries. And cinnamon. It’s probably too much cinnamon but meh, I love the stuff.

Lunch today was just leftovers but I thought instead I would share the most amazing lunch I’ve had in a long long time:

This, my friends, is a chorizo burger in a brioche bun, stuffed with chorizo sausage, spicy hummus, red pepper and rocket along with a side of skin-on chips. From Bill’s cafe. So so SO good. I definitely recommend a visit to Bill’s if you’ve never been, it’s such a cute little place :-)

I don’t always finish meals at the restaurant (I swear the portions are HUGE and in the UK it’s not common practice to take the leftovers home) but there was no way I was leaving any of this.

This brings me to today’s dinner.

I went out for a meal to Pizza Express with a group of friends, most of whom I haven’t seen in weeks and it was a lovely lovely evening (it’s also why I’m going to bed later than usual :-P).

I know the place is called Pizza Express, but when I saw this on the menu I forgot all about pizza…

The ‘Bosco Salad’ - Which is made up of garlic mushrooms, baby mozzarella, avocado, roasted tomatoes, spinach, rocket with a honey & mustard dressing and warm dough sticks. (Only without the mozzarella, I’m not a fan of the stuff.)

The dough sticks are so tasty and we all know how much I love mushrooms and avocado!

It’s always fun going out to the restaurant with friends, we have such hysterical conversations. And they remind me how lucky I am to have the support of brilliant friends. Relationships are something so special, they’re what I treasure the most in life :-)

Anyway, I’m shattered, it’s at least two hours later than I planned on going to bed (yes I am 19 years old going on elderly, although that might even offend many elderly people!) so I’ll say goodnight.

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten recently?
What is your favourite type of food to eat in a restaurant?
Are you an early bird or a night owl? 

25 comments

  1. That sandwich!!! I love chorizo and brioche. Sounds wonderful! Glad you went out with friends and had a great time! I’m definitely a night owl but wish the opposite. I can never get to sleep and every week day when I have to wake up at 6 I am exhausted! I love staying up late and sleeping in but I only get to do it on the weekends.

  2. That burger looks so amazing!!! And I’m so glad you had such a fun time out with friends :)
    I’m a total early bird too haha I turn into a total zombie! I guess we’ll just have to embrace our grandma-ness ;)

  3. That burger does look delicious!!! Sounds like such a fun night with friends!!!

    I really like getting salads at restaurants, they usually add so many fun things into them that I either never think of adding, or never want to buy just for one salad making meal! ha

  4. Oh my word that burger looks and sounds incredible.. wow! I’m a bit of a night owl and as much as I WISH I could get to sleep earlier, it just doesn’t happen. With uni, though, I am getting better :) Glad you had such a great night!

  5. WOW. That burger looks just amazing! And I love the looks of the salad! Sometimes pizza restaurants have awesome salads!!

    Would you really come visit Paris? Because if you do, I just HAVE to visit London :)

    Oh and I agree with you..I treasure relationships so much in life. They’re priceless and are just the right ‘medicine’ when you need a good laugh or encouragement! :)

    1. Yes agreed, it felt adventurous to NOT have pizza there haha!

      Oh I would really, really love to! I would love to go visit you in June!! I make no promises though, I’m so poor right now :-( But you still have to come visit London :-D

      Hope you’ve got my postcard :-)

  6. I’m definitely an early bird, but I can occasionally have night owl tendencies – all depends on the day I suppose.

  7. Mmm – that burger looks delicious. I’ve been craving a burger for a while, but I haven’t got round to having one yet because I want something really high quality and meaty. I love lots of different kinds of food when I eat out. Italian is always a crowd pleaser and I do like pizza a lot.

  8. mmmm your breakfast combo sounds awesome :D

    i recently had some vegan coconut ice cream in a waffle cone at an ice cream and ohmygosh. it was SO good. luckily it’s in an entirely different state or else i would be there everyday. then my wallet would be sad and the ice cream shop would need wider doors haha

  9. Why don’t we have fresh berries here already? They look so good :D The best thing I’ve eaten recently would have to be mint chocolate chip coconut milk ice cream. It beats every other ice cream out there!

  10. Yum, that salad sounds like my dream come true :).
    Best thing I’ve eaten recently were overnight oats with banana and strawberry – I just can’t get over how delicious that breakfast is :)

Leave a Reply

