A Birthday Dinner.

Hello lovelies!

I’m sorry I didn’t post yesterday, I was exhausted when I got in!

Before I talk about my birthday can I just say an enormous thank you for all of your wonderful, supportive comments on my Sunday post. All of the comments were thoughtful, caring and really quite complimentary and I am so so grateful for all of the support you give! You are such wonderful people :-) Blogging has brought so much joy to my life and a huge part of that is down to the people who read and especially the people who take the time to comment, email and continuously support me!! I will reply to all of them tomorrow when I have a little more energy!

Now, as you probably all know, yesterday was my birthday.

At 9.31pm I turned nineteen ;-)

I had a really good day despite having two lectures and a physio appointment. I started out my day opening the cards that arrived on Saturday (so hard to resist opening them early!):

In the middle of those cards sits a nutella and banana cookie that I made on Sunday, topped with nutella and sugar sprinkles. Perfect alongside my weetabix mush!

Also aren’t my cards lovely? All of my cards this year either involve flowers or cupcakes which made me smile. I’m somewhat predictable it would seem. I hope you’ve spotted the lovely handmade card from my sister, I thought it was absolutely lovely :-)

My physio appointment actually went really well, she said she was extremely impressed by the progress I’ve made so things are looking up!

Anyway, on to the fun part of my day. To celebrate my birthday, as I was away from home and didn’t have Tom with me, I thought it would be nice to go for a meal. My friends and I decided on Bella Italia which was great for two main reasons: I love Italian food and we had a voucher so saved money!

I had a really lovely time and the food was fantastic. I had a delicious main course:

I went with the Bucatini Gamberoni which they describe ‘eight succulent king prawns sautéed with garlic and chilli in a spicy pomodoro sauce with bucatini lunghi’. Bucatini lunghi is basically fat spaghetti and I actually think I prefer it to regular spaghetti because it twirls around the fork more easily! The spicy tomato sauce was delicious and it’s so nice to have prawns because they are fairly pricey so I never buy or cook them for myself.

The group, who didn’t all know each other previously, all gelled really well and we spent most of meal in laughter. It was nice to have a time to relax and recharge without having to think about work or stress.

We decided, as it was a special occasion, to get dessert for the celebration. I shared this delicious looking creation with Kathryn and it was just too tasty!

Doesn’t it look amazing? It’s called the Godfather Fragola – ‘vanilla and strawberry ice cream, crushed meringue, strawberry coulis, fresh strawberries, whipped cream and dark chocolate sprinkles’.

So good.

I just wish I could do more than talk to my loved ones on the phone (and I’m getting impatient for my presents!). We’ve decided we’ll celebrate my birthday as a family when I get back home (3 days!!!).

Anyway, it’s getting late so I’m off to bed. I hope you’re all having a fantastic week :-)

Do you like to make/receive handmade cards?
How do like to celebrate your own birthday?
Best dessert you’ve eaten lately?

 

9 comments

  1. AHHHH What a fabulous time!!! I love your “keep calm and eat cupcakes card” and that dessert is making me drool. I’m so happy you had such a wonderful birthday, here’s to celebrating allllllll week! :D

  2. Happy birthday!! I really wish you all the best :D I love the keep calm birthday card haha! The Godfather Fragola looks amazing. It looks like you had a fabulous time with some great company!

  3. Sounds like a fantastic birthday! I love the front of your card “keep calm and eat cupcakes” haha that’s cute. That dessert and Nutella cookie look so delicious! I love celebrating my birthday by eating lots of sweets, having a nice dinner, and being with friends! Just like you did :)

  4. My word I forgot just how young you are! Glad you had a lovely time, your cards look great! I’m turning 30 this year and I’m making a big thing of it, my first thing was my tattoo which is a gift to myself, I’m also having a big joint party with my Mam who is turning 50, I can’t wait!

  5. Happy day after your birthday! Nutella cookies topped with more nutella sounds like a pretty good way to celebrate to me ;D Oh yeah, and all that good friends and fun times business, too… I like to celebrate my birthday by myself, some pretty horrible early birthday memories and an overall dislike of personal attention mean I’m happiest if I go buy some vegan cookies from Whole Foods and get trashy Chinese food to eat in front of a freshly rented light-hearted movie. I usually buy myself a new pair of socks, too. Because I get wild like that on my birthday ;)

  6. ahh Happy Birthday Sophie!!! Looks like you had a wonderful birthday full of fun and good eats :) I want that godfather fragola!! yum.

    I love making handmade cards, but sometimes pre-made ones are so fun/funny to look at and can be so fitting for people. :p

    Have fun celebrating with your family!! :)

Leave a Reply

