March Goals + Coffee.

Well today has been rather nice considering that there has been a throbbing pain shooting up and down my spine all day.

I actually managed to wake up a little before my alarm which was set for 8am (almost never happens to me!) and got up and ready with surprising ease. I think that I’m going to have to talk to the doctor and maybe experiment a bit with the dosage of my amitriptyline because I really do wake up much more easily when I haven’t taken it.

Today is a simple day clothes and makeup wise. I’ve decided that I am going to minimise my makeup routine and start buying fewer but better quality products. Sometime soon I’ll do a post to show you what is currently in my makeup bag. I’ve pretty much made the same decision regarding clothes because wearing nice clothes makes me feel nice and I don’t feel that my style currently reflects my personality. When I was a bit younger I was really passionate about fashion and had a pretty stylish wardrobe (closet) and somehow that love just got pushed aside by schoolwork, exams, my singing etc. I want to rekindle this passion again, I’m aware that some people find a love of clothes to be materialistic but I know that wearing lovely clothes makes me feel good about myself. Ergo, it’s a positive thing in my mind.

I enjoyed a breakfast whilst staring out of the window at the beautiful blue sky. Lovely weather almost never fails to put me in a good mood, does it do that for you?

A bowl of weetabix mush (that old favourite – what can I say nothing compares!) with some really juicy raisins and skim milk. It’s so filling, the perfect start to any day really.

My morning was spent in a rather warm lecture theatre. It was a really interesting lecture, I took five pages of notes, but the lecturer has one of the most monotonous voices I think I’ve ever heard. Enough to put one to sleep. So it took a lot of effort to remain alert for the entire hour and a half. Ah uni life, so tough ;-)

Once home I set about reading this book:

Shame – Salman Rushdie. It’s an interesting book to read although I did have reservations because of the author…

I then cooked up a light lunch (I knew I was going for coffee and cake later!)

Veg stir-fry, does me nicely as a quick and tasty bowl of vegetables. I always use sesame oil when I cook stir-fries, it gives the whole thing such a lovely toasted sesame flavour.

Spent more time reading, tidying and working in the afternoon (couldn’t quite summon up the energy to do the laundry!) until meeting a friend for coffee nearby.

I love this coffee shop, it serves really good coffee plus it’s perfectly positioned so you can sit in comfy sofas and peer out of the window.

I got a cinnamon and hazelnut latte and a slice of banana cake (bliss) and Chloe got… a beer! I love that girl. To be fair, it was almost evening. Almost :-P

Anyway, enough about my day. This month, as it’s the last 4 weeks of term before the Easter holidays, I’ve decided to set myself some goals. I enjoy creating goals and they definitely motivate me.

March Goals.

Lose 2kg. I know, excluding this revealing post, I never talk about weight on this blog. However this is something I really want to strive for this month. The number itself isn’t that important, if I look and feel thinner and, more importantly, healthier, then that’s the main thing. But just as I like making goals for myself, it helps to have such a definite target, I’m much less likely to ‘fall off the wagon’ this way.

Complete all of my work for this term. Although I have not been very well and I am struggling physically already, it is really important to me that I complete all of my work and don’t fall behind. I will get extensions for most of my deadlines so that should help. Whilst I love reading it is actually surprisingly difficult to keep up with. This week for example I have two novels and two plays to read in their entirety as preparation for various lectures or seminars. To some that probably sounds crazy and to others easy but when you have a condition like mine it’s difficult to work for hours at a time. I struggle with reading for extended periods of time as I end up getting dizzy and no sitting positions are very comfortable.

Read 2 books purely for pleasure. Again to some two might seem like an insignificant number but bearing in mind how much I have to read for my course I’ll be incredibly pleased if I manage to read for pleasure at all. So with this in mind I think two is a good number to strive for.

Bake at least once. I’ve realised that I haven’t baked anything for weeks! This saddens me greatly so I’m going to make it my goal to bake at least once. I love baking, I find it so therapeutic and relaxing, I don’t know why I don’t do it more. I want to branch out more and try baking new things, I’ve become an expert on cupcakes, I bake a mean cookie and I’m pretty good with cakes and banana breads but there are so many bakes I’ve yet to try my hand out. Watch this space :-)

Craft a present for Tom for our anniversary. This is pretty self-explanatory. I used to love making things as a child and I want to create something special for him to treasure and to celebrate four years together (no I can’t believe it’s been that long either!).

Have you made any goals for the month? If so, what are they?
Do you prefer going for coffee or for a beer?
Have you read Shame? What did you think of it?

17 comments

  1. Love your goals! I think it is SO sweet you want to make Tom a gift too, craft gifts are always my favorite! It’s so neat to see that someone put time and effort into making something just for you :)
    Can’t wait to see all the adventures March will have in store for you!

  2. I had a similar issue with amitriptyline, I absolutely hated it. I felt so spaced out all of the time, and so sleepy.

    Good luck with your goals, they’re nice and achieveable! I do wish I was able to read for pleasure at the moment, but you only get one chance at final year so I’m just having to suck it up and get on with it, which is for the best!

    I hope you feel better soon, lovely.

    1. It’s a pain isn’t it! But at least it makes me sleep, I wouldn’t be able to get 8 hours (which I desperately need – preferably 9 or 10 :-P) and so for now I’ll have to keep taking it.

      Oh that’s a bit of a shame, it’s probably a good idea to focus on your work though, I’m sure it will all pay off! Just think how lovely it will be when you’ve finished, then you can read for pleasure all you want :-)

      Thank you!

  3. Sounds like a pretty good day. Then again, any day with cake is a good day! haha. I do hope you feel better though, just remember to think positive! I know what you mean about the clothes thing. The way you feel and see yourself is really the only opinion that truly matters. I love you goals! I love making and creating things for people like homemade cards and horribly funny drawings of my friends and I with the photo telling an inside joke (but I mostly like making them food! haha.) Goodluck with your goals girl! :)

    1. Haha that is incredibly true, it was seriously good cake too! Thank you lovely, your support means a lot :-)

      Yes I completely agree! It’s nice to feel good sometimes and put the effort in. Thank you, I love creating things too but in the last few years really haven’t had the time!

  4. I am loving your goals Sophie! I always like to make sure that I am reading a few books for pleasure as well… it’s not forcing necessarily, but it really does add delight into my life!
    I can understand about wanting to feel your best with the weight, but of course, make sure it’s you SOPHIE that wants this and not any disordered eating thoughts. There really is a difference and I would never want you to start losing too much weight again love!
    I am sure your present to the boy is going to be so wonderful :)

    1. Thank you Tessa :-) It definitely adds to mine, I’m glad you love reading too!

      You are such a caring person, thank you for your concern and support. I promise it’s me and not any messed up part of me who wants this! I’m going to do it healthily and slowly too!

      Thank you – I hope so!

  5. Ooh, I want to see this makeup bag post! I would love to do the same as you–get a few really good products rather than a pile of mediocre ones. I don’t wear makeup all that often, but I’d like to have some good options for when I do. And great list of achievable goals! I didn’t make any for the month, but I probably should, I love having things to specifically work toward.

    1. I’m glad somebody likes the idea, I promise to do it sometime soon :-)

      I don’t wear a huge amount of makeup either and I’ve been thinking lately that having a few luxurious products is infinitely better than having lots of cheaper ones, plus they really do feel better on your skin!

      Thank you! Me too, that’s why I always try to set the goals.

  6. They are great goals. I’m particularly impressed that you are going to try to read for pleasure when you have so much other reading to do!
    The coffee looks delicious – I love proper coffee shops like that. I’m a big fan of good quality make-up now. I don’t use a lot of make-up, so I’ve invested in Clinique and Benefit stuff because it looks good, lasts, and doesn’t irritate my skin.

    1. Thanks Sarah! Yeah I know, perhaps a teeny bit crazy but I can always try :-P

      Me too, spending a couple of hours in a nice coffee shop or tea room is one of my favourite things to do. I’m the same, I don’t like wearing lots but I want what I do wear to be really nice. I’d love to have something from Benefit – it always looks so lovely!

Leave a Reply

