Home, Sweet Home.

Yep, that’s right. I’m home again!

It feels so good. It feels even better knowing that if I’d have been today as I was yesterday, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have made it to the bus stop let alone the train home.

I’m exhausted. I feel so ill. But I actually had a decent meal and I got to relax on the sofa watching TV tonight.

So I feel better (marginally).

Tomorrow the plan is to sleep, read, eat and maybe, if I’m feeling up to it, going for coffee in town.

Sounds pretty perfect to me.

I felt horrible and shaky getting the bus, waiting in the station, and standing on the platform but once settled on the train I was fine. I loathe the whole rigmarole that surrounds the process of getting a train but I really do enjoy train journeys.

You have very little to do, very little distracting you, and if you so choose, very little human interaction. This obviously makes it the perfect time to read.

And read I did.

I finished reading Birdsong, by Sebastian Faulks, (on my kindle) which is just the most heartbreakingly beautiful book I have ever read. I also started Lonely Hearts, by John Harvey, and it’s shaping up to be an incredibly enjoyable read.

When the train pulled into the station and I knew I was finally almost home, I felt a huge relief. No stress for a couple of days. No worrying about cooking, or laundry, or cleaning for the weekend. I can relax.

My mum made a delicious pasta dish for dinner, I’ll have to give you the recipe sometime. It’s just the right sort of indulgent. It’s full of my favourite veg: courgette, mushrooms, and peppers. Chorizo plays a starring role and I think most meat-eating people would agree, it is one special kind of sausage. And cream which, although being something I’m not a huge fan  of, gives the dish that extra feeling of luxury. Perfect.

My family is wonderful.

Despite our somewhat fiery discussions, we are brilliant together. I love them all. Their support is amazing.

Anyway bedtime for me! Way too tired to write anymore.

I apologise that I’ve been a bit useless at commenting on your posts for the last few days, I’ve not been in much of a state to type coherent comments for you! I have been reading though, and I’ll be back to normal soon :-)

I hope you’ve all had a lovely week!

Anything happening this weekend? Any exciting plans?
What’s your slightly naughty indulgent dish?
Do you enjoy train journeys? Do you use them as the opportunity to read for hours too?

 

18 comments

  1. That pasta dish looks superb! I’ve never been on a train before. Trains are rare where I live. I hate going on planes though only cause I’m so paranoid haha. Have a great weekend home! :)

    1. Thank you Chloe :-)

      Wow you’ve never been on a train? To me in the UK that’s crazy! I’m not a big fan of planes either, the journeys always make me feel a bit ill!

      Have a lovely week :-)

  2. That pasta look incredible! I can’t wait for the recipe! Being at home is great when you know that food is always there, plus spending time with your family of course. Enjoy your time at home and have a great weekend! :D

  3. Did you see the TV adaptation of Birdsong? I’ve not read the book (it’s definitely on my reading list, though!) but the TV series made me cry like a baby!

    I hope you feel better soon, enjoy your weekend of TLC :)

  4. Mmmmmmmmmm I really want that pasta right now, haha! And I agree that chorizo is amazing….I grew up eating it b/c it’s pretty much a staple in Argentina. :) And train rides sound so great~I’ve never actually been on one here in the states. I hope you have a great day girl! Hang in there and God bless you and give you rest~ <3

    1. Oh I loved all of the Argentinian food I’ve tried, chorizo really is brilliant isn’t it!

      I can’t believe you’ve never been on a train! That sounds crazy to me here in the UK :-P

      Thank you lovely, God bless :-)

  5. I’m sorry that you’re still feeling ill, hopefully a weekend of relaxing will help you to feel better. I love Birdsong, although it’s quite a while since I read it. I watched the BBC adaptation and thought it was quite good, although not a patch on reading the book.
    I take trains quite often for work and find it ok, but I cannot keep awake, which is embarrassing if I’m travelling with colleagues!

    1. Thank you so much Sarah, I’m feeling a bit better after my restful weekend :-) It’s such an amazing book, I wish I’d caught the BBC adaptation!

      Haha I do fall asleep on the train sometimes too! Hope you have a brilliant week!

Leave a Reply

