Freedom.

I have finished all of my holiday assessments.

I cannot describe how it feels to have the weight lifted from my shoulders.

In the last few weeks I have written approximately 10,000 words.

With the exception of the bibliographies and the formatting I am done.

(For the weekend at least!)

This morning my mum and I took a trip into town to grab a few things that I needed and to have a well-deserved coffee together. I love spending time with my mum like that, it might sound a bit overly emotional but I’m really going to miss all of the lovely chats we’ve been having.

We went to one of my favourite local cafes. It’s so sweet, mostly decorated in white with lovely wooden tables and chairs and a little kitchen with an almost cottage-y feel. Plus they make the most delicious cakes. I got a raspberry and coconut slice and it was just gorgeous. There’s something sort of special about the vanilla syrup they put in the lattes too, it has so much more flavour than the Starbucks one.

After our little trip to town we each settled down to our work before regrouping for lunch.

Toasted bagel topped with pan-fried courgette with garlic and chilli. It’s such a simple and tasty meal to make, perfect for a light lunch. The fresh taste makes me think summer. It made me wistful for warmer weather, for lighter evenings, for light jackets and pretty dresses, for spring flowers and for longer days.

This afternoon was all work and no play.

But as I said before as a consequence I have finished with the assignments I was set over Christmas. It feels so freeing. Now I can enjoy the last day and a half of my time at home :-)

Shakespeare’s histories and I have said our goodbyes, I will no longer be consulting with King Richard or dear old Falstaff. It’s been really interesting to learn about the history plays but I have to say they’re not really my cup of tea. I downloaded A Lover’s Complaint onto my Kindle this afternoon which I plan on reading when I next get a spare afternoon. I’ve been stocking up on free classics lately, like I said the other day, I’m addicted!

I celebrated the fact that I was doing so well with my work with a big slice of buttered brioche and a square of dark chocolate. Such a nice snack. Both are foods from my childhood, nothing beats the brioche from the bakers opposite my grandparents’ house.

Anyway it’s late, I’ve just had a lovely chat with Tom and I’m off to bed.

Any exciting plans for this weekend?
Are you all looking forward to spring arriving as much as I am?
Cold or warm weather?


10 comments

  1. It already feels like spring where I’m at! I’m likin’ the weather though. That brioche looks so buttery and fluffy. I really want to make my own homemade brioche soon! It sounds like you had a lovely little afternoon date with your mother! Mother-daughter bonding times are best and I always appreciate how good of a bond I have with my mom :)

  2. Congratulations on finishing your assignments! It’s SUCH a huge sigh of relief to finish essays!

    I am so so looking forward to Spring! I can’t wait to wear shorts and see all of the flowers! I’m ready to say goodbye to the gloomy weather we’ve had lately!

    Why yes I have exciting plans this weekend :) haha But you already know about that :)

  3. I love cute little cafes. I actually enjoy the atmosphere way more then I do the coffee ;)
    Congrats on getting all those assigments done and over with. I have one last exam before spring break and the feeling it’s all going to be over soon is awesome!

Leave a Reply

