A Series of Letters

I’ve been trying to come up with an idea for a series of posts that I could write.

It had to be something that I could keep going, something that I would have plenty of inspiration to write.

It had to be something fun that you (my lovely readers) would want to read.

It had to be something personal to me.

A few days ago I was looking through some of the things in my ‘memory box’, which my mum started keeping my personal things when I was little and that I’ve been adding to for the last few years, and I came across letters. Some that people had written to me years ago, some I don’t remember, some where I don’t even remember the author and it struck me that I like writing letters. I write Tom letters sometimes and I’ve written letters for members of my family before because I think that nowadays receiving a handwritten letter is sort of special. It’s personal.

So I decided that I’d found the perfect topic for my series: I’m going to write a series of letters. Some will be to real people, friends, family, people I met a long time ago, people I’ve never met, maybe even to people I dislike. Some may be to fictional characters, like Elizabeth Bennett or to Scout Finch. Some might not even be to people but to things, or concepts. Some might be to God. Or to myself in the past, or in the future.

I just want something to write creatively, something which has not been prescribed by my degree and something which doesn’t just concern my daily life, food, exercise or health.

I haven’t really decided on all of the recipients of these letters yet, I’m just going to let it progress as I develop it. Hopefully you’ll get something out of it and so will I.

We shall see :-)

Anyway today has been a mixture of good and bad. This morning I watched an episode of the BBC production of Middlemarch (from 1994) and then went into town to meet with three of my best friends from home. This was part of where today’s two emotional sides came in: it was lovely to meet with them but it was also probably the last time I see them for several weeks as we all leave for uni soon (two of them leave this week) and what with all of the work I have to do before I go back, none of us will have the time  to meet again. I’ve become so close to these girls over the last year and I miss them terribly when I’m away at uni!

We had a really nice lunch though, at Eat which is one of favourites thanks to all of the fresh and healthy food they sell (even if it is a little pricey!).

I went with a new salad I hadn’t tried before:

Tandoori chicken, mango, green lentil, and brown, red and wild rice salad (sorry for the awful out-of-focus photo!). It was really yummy and with 16.9g of protein and 3g of fibre I’d say it was pretty healthy too :-)

I also had to have some of this:

It’s Swiss bircher muesli, basically a pot of overnight oats, and it is delicious. I love the stuff, sometimes I’ll just go buy a pot of that just because it’s that good. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes oats and/or yogurt!

We had a little wander around town, I bought my dad a card (it’s his birthday on Friday) and felt exasperated (for the millionth-time) about how difficult it is to buy presents for him or just for fathers in general as it seems that all of my friends feel the same. I mean what do you get a guy who has everything he needs and doesn’t want anything?! His primary (and kinda only) hobby is golf and I bought him two golf books for Christmas plus I’ve already bought him a whole plethora of golf things over the years. I’m still not really sure what to get so if you’ve got any suggestions please send them my way!

Unfortunately I couldn’t hang out in town indefinitely as I had to come back home to work. I have been working on my massive English language assessment lately and it really isn’t easy. Having never really studied language, grammar etc before I’m finding the whole module a bit of a struggle and this is no different so it’s a little demoralising.

Oh well. I’ll get there eventually.

Then I have to move on to two further literature essays… ;-)

What do you think of my idea for a post series? Got any letter suggestions?
What did you buy for your father’s last birthday?
Who do you find it most difficult to buy presents for?

I hope you all had a lovely weekend!

 

 

P.s. If you have facebook (seriously who doesn’t?! apart from my parents that is :-P) don’t forget to go like my new page!

11 comments

  1. I like the series post idea…..I don’t know what you should do though, nor do I know what I’d do if it was me….actually you just gave me an idea of what I would do with your next question…maybe I’d write letters to my dad, who is dead. but most likely not.

    I like the idea of writing letters to someone though….maybe even writing to the older version of you???

    also the hardest person to shop for is my brother – he never says what he likes and he never returns what you get him, but he won’t ever use it/wear it if he hates it. lame

  2. Sophie, I love love this new idea! I think you could even write letters to certain emotions, like ‘fear’ or ‘anxiety’ or even good emotions like ‘happiness’ or ‘balance’!

    Does your dad listen to audio books if he has a drive to work? You should try audible.com where you can buy your dad a gift card for him to purchase a book to listen to!

  3. As always, both your eats look delicious! I love trying new salads. I swear they all taste different depending on where you get ‘em. I love the idea of you writing letters for post and look forward to reading your thoughts! I love writing letters, too. I could write and ramble forever in them.

  4. I love the idea of a memory box – it’s such a great way to keep things that mean something to you!
    Luckily my Dad is quite easy to buy for – he likes cooking, so I usually buy him something to do with that. Peter on the other hand is a nightmare – he chose his own Christmas present and I still owe him two birthday presents because he’s so difficult!

Leave a Reply

