To Drink or Not to Drink?

Hello there my lovely lovely readers!

I don’t know why the chirpy greeting, I’m not even feeling that up beat but hey, sometimes we need chirpy hellos :-P

Breakfast today, the usual. Getting bored of seeing it? I’ll try to vary it tomorrow!

Although I’m still feeling a little bit sad today I had a really productive day. This morning I read some more of my texts for this week and then got in Level 1 of the 30 Day Shred. I was sweaty and exhausted but I was happy with myself, I feel like I’m on the way to getting back on track. Finally!

Lunch was somewhat pitiful because I had almost no food left in the fridge:

A cinnamon raisin bagel with melted butter. Maybe simple and a bit lacking but still one of my favourite foods!

In the afternoon I finally made it into town to visit my favourite little local farm shop (as well as Sainsburys) :-) I got a full shop which was great so I now have a fridge full of fresh veg, dairy products and a cupboard stocked up again. As such I ate some crackers topped with taramasalata. I haven’t had any in ages and I love the stuff. It may be fatty but it’s also tasty :-)

After my shop I ran off to my afternoon Shakespeare lecture – she was fantastic although it went on for almost an hour and 45 minutes so I was aching to stretch my legs by the time it was finished!

I then rushed back to get changed and go off to the gym with Trelawney. As I’d got in a workout in the morning it was only a quick one but I actually prefer short, high intensity workouts to longer ones.

Dinner was nice, quick, healthy and tasty:

Ok ok so I cheated and bought a packet of mixed stir fry veggies so all I had to do was actually stir fry them in soy sauce but you know what, I don’t care. I need some quick and healthy meals and this lets me have all of that. And I really liked the veggies in this mix, I wouldn’t be able to afford (or have the space) to buy all of the different vegetables in there!

Now to the subject of my title. Tessa over at Amazing Asset did a post recently which touches on some of the same issues, I’d definitely recommend you head over and read it. And whilst you’re there, read the rest of her blog, I love it and I love her! <3

Since being at uni I have obviously been going out some evenings and enjoying a few drinks. But a lot of the people around me don’t enjoy a few drinks…they enjoy litres of drink. And I’m often surrounded by very drunk people. There are hoards of them going past my window at this very moment, quite a few dressed in very little and all of them looking pretty trashy. (Sorry that sounds bitchy but it’s kinda true!)

I know this makes me sound both a) like an old lady and b) a bit snooty but the thing is I just don’t understand why people do it!

To me getting really really drunk in some club surrounded by people I don’t know, with random guys trying to dance with you, disgusting toilets, over-priced drinks, sweat and everything else just sounds awful. And I have done it before, albeit it not that many times.

The thing is I can’t join in, even if I wanted to. I can’t stand up for that long, I definitely can’t dance for that long and if I drink a little bit too much, I don’t notice the pain so much and then I spend the next day in agony.

Don’t get me wrong, I have absolutely nothing against other people going out clubbing and drinking. I think everyone at uni should be able to go out and do what they enjoy. It’s just that sometimes I do feel left out. I feel like I should want to be getting drunk and partying the night away. I should want to go out clubbing with all of the others. I feel like by not enjoying it, that I’m being boring, unadventurous and not of the right age. And it does mean I miss out on a lot of the ‘uni experience’.

The thing is, I wish that I could find some people who were up for doing something else. Something more subdued, like going for a meal or just going to a bar for a few drinks and a relaxing time among friends.

Anyway in the spirit of being like an old person I’m going to get ready for bed and relax with a good book :-)

What did you enjoy doing at uni?
Do you enjoy drinking lots and going out to clubs?
Any advice on how to feel a bit less left out?

Hope you all had a great start to the week and HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!
(I’m probably the only blogger not writing anything about Halloween today :-P)

Sophie x

30 comments

  1. I hate clubbing too! I prefer going out to the pub for dinner and drinks…but not get wasted. When I first started uni I was in that crowd of going out clubbing and all that. I got sick of it and I found it to be downright sleazy. It took me a while to find a group of friends that were more low key. Doesn’t mean we don’t have fun. We enjoy going out for dinner a lot, bowling, bbq’s in the park and even weekend’s at a beach house.
    Eventually you will find the group of people that enjoy the things you do :)

  2. I’d just suggest doing a meal out with your friends, having a movie night/potluck in, or some other activity you enjoy. Even if your friends enjoy going out to clubs, that doesn’t mean you have to! They might come up with the idea of clubbing on their own, but if you suggest dinner and a movie, I doubt that anyone would say no!

    I have mixed feelings on the subject. I don’t really like to drink because I have lots of fun without it and don’t “need” it to loosen up. I don’t like being around really drunk people, either. I DO, however, loooove to go out dancing! I turned 21 this year and love going to clubs to dance with my friends. I have a boyfriend, so I don’t dance with nasty strangers. It’s a happy medium :)

    1. That’s a good idea actually, it would be nice to get people involved in something I enjoy too!
      We did actually have a movie night the other day which was good :-)
      Well it sounds like you manage to enjoy it in a decent way without any humiliation or sleaze ;-) Good for you!

  3. Your breakfast looks insanely good! :D
    I’m not a drinker/partier AT ALL, I always skip out on the bar scene. I guess I’m a granny ay heart haha ;)
    Enjoy your Halloween!

  4. It’s strange that we think we’re the only ones that think this, although we know there must be. Unfortunately finding that person isn’t so easy. I started uni this year and despite enjoying going out with friends I much prefer going to a pub for a few drinks rather than going out clubbing.
    I don’t know if you live in halls or something similar, but I find that spending time in the kitchen when my flatmates are around and going for lunch with people on my course means that I still have people to be around (and make friends with), but they don’t mind if I don’t go out drinking with them. Some people take longer than others to understand that you don’t always want to do or that you just don’t do something, but eventually it becomes normal so they stop questioning it.
    As for what I enjoy doing at uni, during the day is mostly spending time with people on my course and the evenings and weekends either with my flatmates, reading, doing coursework or drawing.
    Sorry, I didn’t expect to write quite so much.

      1. Thank you for all your lovely comments :-)
        I checked out your blog and I’m looking forward to reading more as you get back into blogging!
        I enjoy very similar things to you actually, I can usually be found reading or scribbling :-)

  5. I hate clubbing and drinking too! It’s just not for me. All of your eats looks delicious! Hope you’re having a great halloween! :)

  6. Thanks for the shout out! You know how I feel about this whole subject and I completely understand. I of course feel conflicted all of the darn time, like I should be doing these things.. but they are just not fun to me!

  7. I don’t enjoy that kind of stuff now but when I was younger I was out all the time getting, quite frankly, wasted. I certainly feel like I’ve had my fill of all of that for this life time! I don’t think you should feel pressured to do something you don’t enjoy for sake of ‘the uni experience’ there is so much more to being at uni than the party scene. I think you said you’d joined some societies? I’m sure there will be a lot of other students like you that don’t want to go out like than and prefer quieter nights out – you just need to find them :-)

  8. i can totally relate to the “not drinking problem”. I often go out with people that like to drink A LOT more than i do. I love a glass of wine or two (or sometimes 3) but thats just about it. I dont like to mix spirits, get drunk or even spend money on alcohol when i know i wont even remember having drunk it the next day. I will be in london sometime soon, so maybe i will call u up and we’ll meet for a wine and dine session! :)

  9. If you don’t want to go out getting drunk, don’t. I’ll be honest: I did it a lot while I was at uni, and I had a great time and I don’t regret it, but not everyone wants to and not everyone has to. There will be other people at uni who don’t enjoy drinking. I knew people who didn’t drink at all, and from what I can tell they didn’t feel like they were missing out on their uni experience. Join some societies, if you can, to try to find a social group that isn’t centred around drinking. Be the only one in the 9am lecture without a hangover. It’s a great feeling – or so I’m told ;)

    Nobody should ever try to make you feel bad about not liking clubbing, especially if part of the reason you don’t like it is because of your condition. Anybody who is going to judge you for that isn’t worth your time!

    1. It’s good to know that you knew some, I haven’t really found any yet!
      Haha it is quite nice although I’m usually exhausted anyway because I haven’t shaken off the fatigue at that point :-P
      Thank you, I think you make an excellent point :-)
      I’m sick of people treating me differently or not bothering about me, I will not be treated as “disabled”!!

  10. Oh my goodness I love you. I used to go out drinking like it was my J.O.B when I was in high school. Now the thought of alcohol makes me cringe and I genuinely get “scared” drinking. I am scared of the liquid calories and I am scared of the decisions I make. I wish I could come hangout with you allllll the time because I am with you on all of this. My best friend loves to go out and drink, and I just don’t!

  11. You sound exactly like me. Too bad I don’t live in England, or we could hang out. :) I don’t mind if other people want to go clubbing or get drunk, but it’s just not me. I enjoy my nights in with a friend, maybe a movie or dinner out. I used to feel left out, but really there’s nothing wrong with being an introvert. It’s just a personality trait. There are other people who feel the same way. The trick is finding them!

    1. I know it’s a shame! I bet we’d have loads in common :-)
      Me neither, I don’t have a problem with other people drinking (so long as they’re not sick anywhere near me anyway!) but I’m not a fan.
      Thank you, I’ll keep trying to find them :-)

  12. I did my fair share of going out when I was at university, but I also spent a lot of time just hanging out with friends and I loved my alone time too. Everyone is different and it’s fine not to want to go out clubbing, especially as it causes you so much pain. I agree with other commenter that there are plenty of people who feel the same as you and you will find them as you university career progresses.

  13. I agree! Clubbing and drinking in general is gross. You’re not boring for wanting to do something better with your time. You’re smarter, much smarter. You’ll live a healthier, safer, and more meaningful life than any alcoholic club-goer. Major kudos to you :)

Leave a Reply

