What I Ate Wednesday No.10 + My First Real Dinner

Today I made my first completely home-made, healthy dinner at uni!

But before that let me remind you that it’s…

And therefore once again time to join in with Jenn’s fantastic party!

Breakfast was (if you’re a regular reader) what you’d expect from me:

Weetabix :-) This time with oats and raisins. There are no bounds to my love for weetabix. It might even be becoming an addiction. By the way, I know my portion looks pretty tiny here but it’s actually because the bowls I have aren’t really meant for cereal – that’s exactly the same amount I normally eat!

I did my first uni workout too today.

Because I was silly and forgot to bring my trainers up, I’m having to work out at home at the moment but because I was smart and did bring my dumbbells, I managed to get in a pretty decent workout.

Super Simple Upper Body Strength Workout:

Shoulder Press 3 x 10 reps
Lateral Raise 3 x 8 reps
Bicep Curls 3 x 12 reps
Dumbbell Rows 3 x 12 reps
Tricep Extension 3 x 12 reps
Dumbbell Flys 3 x 10 reps

Nothing extensive but enough to get my muscles straining.

You know you’re a foodie when you get really excited about a local farm shop and a bag full of vegetables.

I went for my first big shop today, I bought all of my fresh veg from this lovely little organic and local farm shop – a whole canvas bag of veg for £5.80! It made my day :-)

I then bought my essentials from Sainsbury’s and it cost about three times as much!

My veg draw is now full up, I bought courgette (zuccini), broccoli, peppers, aubergine, avocado, squash and sweet potato :-)

I also found this:

I was so excited (I know, that probably makes me really sad!) because I’ve seen loads of bloggers rave about it but I’ve never actually seen any in the shops before so I just had to get some!

Well now moving on to my first home-cooked meal at uni…

With my newly purchased veg I roasted up a tin of sweet potato, aubergine, yellow pepper and garlic.

It was pretty tasty (even if this photo makes it look especially yellow), I ate it with mustard.

Dessert was a… not so healthy dish, pretty studenty though:

My eating habits have been pretty mixed so far but I figure I’m only 4 days in and it is Freshers’ Week. I plan on completely healthifying my diet when I start my daily routine!

Anyway I’m off to bed as we are going out again tomorrow, it’s Toga Night…

Did you eat well at university? Got any invaluable tips for me?

Sophie x

18 comments

  1. I eat pretty well, but I’m also an older uni student with my own place, etc. I try to make things as easy as possible on myself so I just grab for healthy things!

  2. Yum, I love those roses tubs haha. Looks like a lovely veg dish! I’m on campus and eat damn well I think! My tips – invest in lots of tuppaware, buy tinned beans (pinto, kidney chickpeas etc), great for bases of meals, frozen veg is cheapest, fage is yummy but supermarkets own fromage frais is just as nice and same amount of protein and a lot cheaper!, oats and peanut butter are your friends, buy breads when they’re on offer/reduced then pop them in the freezer and take out when you want!! hope this helped!

      1. hey! yeah frozen spinach is really cheap but i always get the fresh stuff as it’s a lot less soggy – on offer at asda atm for 50p a bag :)

Leave a Reply

