The End Of An Era… (+ WIAT)

I can’t believe this is it.

I’ve been thinking about it since applying in October last year. I’ve been talking about it since the end of my exams in June. I’ve been preparing for it all summer.

Today, I leave for university.

Today, I begin the next phase of my life.

It’s really hard to take it all in.

This morning is pretty frantic but I want to write this post because I have just found out that I may not have internet for the next three days.

So here is my contribution to Jenn’s brilliant WIAW party although mine is technically a What I Ate Tuesday as I won’t be able to do todays food!

So as usual, here is my breakfast:

Weetabix mush (I’ll NEVER get bored), fresh blueberries and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. Probably the last glass of fresh orange juice I get to drink for weeks as I highly doubt I’ll have the money for luxuries like juice! Not to mention that I should probably give my teeth a break from all the sugar I’ve been eating/drinking this summer.

I spent yesterday morning at Tesco buying my food essentials to take to my new kitchen(!) and picking up some pans and baking dishes that my Granddad has kindly donated to me. I love having all of my own kitchen things :-)

For lunch I had two leftover curries, one chicken and one aubergine and green bean, along with some garlic naan and a dollop of mango chutney. Delicious. I definitely wanted to make the most of my last meals at home!

Tom came round in the afternoon and we spent the rest of the day together. It’s always hard as I said in my post yesterday, I’ll have to admit I did get a little teary at times. I’m super excited but I still hate having to leave behind all of the people I care about. Tom and I have been doing the whole long-distance thing for three years now but it doesn’t really get any easier!

Dinner was by my special request:

It’s strange, I’m really not a particularly avid meat lover, I’d be pretty happy with a vegetarian diet, but I do love a good steak!

My request was for steak and chips with a peppercorn sauce. It was fantastic! My dad cooks the best steaks :-)

My mum had also bought my favourites for my last dessert:

Raspberries! Another thing I probably won’t get to eat again fresh for a long time :-(

All in all it was a truly lovely last day. My parents gifted me a beautiful fountain pen as a going away present :-)

I’m going to miss my family so much, we’ve always been close and it’s going to be weird moving on without them. My little sister is not looking forward to being an only child!

Right I need to go, I have to eat something before I leave and check one last time that I haven’t forgotten anything! I’m soooo excited!! :-)

Love you all

Sophie x

20 comments

  1. Mmm steak.

    Good luck at uni! Where are you going? I saw in your about me that you’re studying English – I studied English and Creative Writing and absolutely loved it :) With fresh fruit, if you look around for a market stall or greengrocer you’d be surprised how much nice fruit you can get for fairly cheap. Of course this depends where you go – my uni city was pretty cheap overall.

    I hope you have a great time at uni! I’m so sad that it’s all over for me :(

  2. oh dear!! How far are you going for Uni? It is indeed difficult to leave those you love, I’m doing it going to London in 3 days. You won’t be able to find raspberries? I hope you will!!
    I need to try wheatbix much. How do you make it? It looks creamy.

    1. It’s only about an hour and a half away so it’s really not that bad!
      Oh wow that’s so exciting :-)
      I just let it soak in a little bit of milk and then I mush it up with my spoon, add toppings and voila!

Leave a Reply

