Guest Post: Morgan from Life After Bagels

Hey guys, I hope you’re all having a fabulous week so far! Today is the first in my series of guest posts, and this one is from Morgan, one of the first blogs I started following. She writes fantastic ispirational posts which you should definitely check out :-)

Hello! I’m Morgan and I blog at Life After Bagels. On my blog I write about all areas of health and life from fitness to clean eating to vegetarianism to budgeting to stress control and … I’m now a mature student, back in University. Sophie invited me to write over here while she’s away and I hope you’ll come and visit me at Life After Bagels too!

Today I’m going to talk about “owning” your workout. Yeah I know that sounds all Tony Robbins or maybe Oprah-like. Something you should know about me is that I suffer from joint pain and regular flare ups of old injuries from when I was younger. When I first started reading blogs and writing my blog I would dream about one day running a marathon. While I do still have that dream, I now have realized that doing what’s right for my body is a much better plan.

You will rarely find me on the track anymore, instead you’ll find me on my bike. You’ll never hear me grunting at the weight machines, I like the free weight area. I can’t squat, I can’t lung and most importantly my workouts are far far slower than any other member of the gym.

It’s taken me quite some time to realize that my workout is, well – mine! I always have to find that happy medium between pushing my body and feeling good, and hitting my workout so hard that I end up limping the next day. (I should probably take this opportunity to tell you that yes, I do have clearance from my doctor to participate in my fitness programs.)

Whether the consequences for you pushing yourself too hard are as serious as mine, take some time to think about your next workout. What are your goals? More importantly WHY are they your goals? Are you trying to measure up to a friend who’s running the same distance or the blogger who’s signed up for another triathlon or that girl at work with the killer calves?

When I workout for me I know that I need to set a slow pace, that’s what will give me a successful workout. I use music to help me achieve this goal. Instead of the heart pumping music you’d likely hear on most people’s playlist, mine will take you down several notches. It reminds me to go slowly through my reps and it reminds me to focus on form and breath with each move.

This is what’s currently delighting me on my playlist:

  • Muse – The Resistance
  • Soundtrack to Eclipse
  • Soundtrack to Little Miss Sunshine

What do you do during your workouts that make them uniquely for you?

Thanks for reading everyone! If you have any questions you can email me morgan.shuker AT gmail.com. I hope you’ll come visit me at Life After Bagels or join me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter.

Well I hope you enjoyed that as much as I did! By now I should be relaxing in my gorgeous hotel in Ibiza :-)

Sophie x

4 comments

  1. I love Morgan <3 This is a fantastic post. Setting your pace to match music is a great tip that is so incredibly useful- it works really well, and i always keep in mind that i should choose music not just on preference but on tempo too :)

    xoxo <3

Leave a Reply

